AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

Reply
New Member
JOESTUMPF6082
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-01-2011
Message 1 of 6 (1,370 Views)
Accepted Solution

AutoCAD 2012 Electrical Home Use License

1370 Views, 5 Replies
04-01-2011 06:37 AM

Do I still have the option to use a copy of AutoCAD on my home computer with the 2012 Electrical version?  We own two stand-alone licenses.  If so, how do I go about the registration of the home copy?

 

Thanks,

Joe

If you are on a subscription, then you are automatically approved for home use.  It's a perk.

Member
paulfhme
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-26-2006
Message 2 of 6 (1,363 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 Electrical Home Use License

04-01-2011 07:18 AM in reply to: JOESTUMPF6082

If you are on a subscription, then you are automatically approved for home use.  It's a perk.

New Member
JOESTUMPF6082
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-01-2011
Message 3 of 6 (1,356 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 Electrical Home Use License

04-01-2011 07:50 AM in reply to: paulfhme

Thanks for the quick response!

New Member
MrMindlink
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-08-2011
Message 4 of 6 (1,186 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 Electrical Home Use License

04-14-2011 12:43 PM in reply to: paulfhme

paulfhme wrote:

If you are on a subscription, then you are automatically approved for home use.  It's a perk.


Where can I find this information in writing?

 

Thanks,

Valued Contributor
whenry
Posts: 79
Registered: ‎08-20-2007
Message 5 of 6 (1,004 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 Electrical Home Use License

05-19-2011 10:00 AM in reply to: JOESTUMPF6082

The information regarding home use is actually in the license agreement documentation.  If you don't know where this is, begin an installation...you have to click "accept" on the license agreement to continue, but this time, copy paste it out to a document and then search it for the text.

 

You would use your standalone license number for the home installation as well, and register it as you did the copy at work.  Autodesk does track this, so if you loaded it on 3 machines, you'd likely get a call. It's kind of a monitored honor system.

 

For network licenses, if I recall correctly, you would load the software as a standalone version with the same serial number and license key.  Just like the standalone copy, Autodesk monitors the standalone installs.  So if you had 10 seats attached to 1 license, you would have 10 standalone installs available for home use.

 

Can any moderators out there confirm this?

Employee
MinKeng
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎05-03-2007
Message 6 of 6 (915 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 Electrical Home Use License

05-31-2011 06:34 PM in reply to: JOESTUMPF6082

Hi Joe,

 

It should be referred to privacy policy and contract of the product, and yes, we still allow customers to activate second “Home” machine (no registration will be required) since first “Work” machine already registered the serial number.

 

Regards,

Min Keng

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.