AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
grahamLewis2010
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎09-15-2009
Message 1 of 13 (1,588 Views)

aligning text attributes

1588 Views, 12 Replies
02-01-2010 02:07 AM
A simple thing! there must be an easy way (I hope) to align attributes of various components ... just like aligning wire numbers or the components themselves... I just haven't been able to see it PLEASE PLEASE can someone help... I need my diagrams to look nice....

thanks in advance

Graham
Graham
*Expert Elite*
dougmcalexander
Posts: 3,110
Registered: ‎10-18-2003
Message 2 of 13 (1,588 Views)

Re: aligning text attributes

02-01-2010 05:03 AM in reply to: grahamLewis2010
The attribute move command allows you to select attributes from multiple blocks and move them all at once.
Doug McAlexander
Independent Consultant/Instructor/Mentor specializing in AutoCAD Electrical, ecscad, and promis-e implementation

Web site: www.ECADConsultant.com
Phone: (770) 841-8009

Please Accept as Solution if I helped you. Kudos are also much appreciated.
Active Contributor
grahamLewis2010
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎09-15-2009
Message 3 of 13 (1,589 Views)

Re: aligning text attributes

02-01-2010 08:50 AM in reply to: grahamLewis2010
Hi Doug,

thanks again for responding... yeh got that and have been using it but what I really want to do is click items and have them align accurately its amazing how sharp the human eye is in detecting slight offsets and how hard it is to align separate text objects.. it seems disappointing to me! especially when it does it with other items such as wire no's ...

Graham
Graham
*Steve
Message 4 of 13 (1,592 Views)

Re: aligning text attributes

02-08-2010 12:25 PM in reply to: grahamLewis2010
Graham,

Attached is a small LISP routine that can be used to align attributes on
blocks. It works similar to the Acade Align Component command. It does not
work with Align and Fit text justifications though (I didn't take the time
to add that support).

It is not fully tested and is being supplied as-is, but it works on basic
attributes and can be used to align attributes on either the same block or
different blocks. It will also work on any drawings, they do not need to be
Acade drawings.

Steve

"NickMcGarry2994" wrote in message news:6328030@discussion.autodesk.com...
> Hi Doug,
>
> thanks again for responding... yeh got that and have been using it but
> what I really want to do is click items and have them align accurately its
> amazing how sharp the human eye is in detecting slight offsets and how
> hard it is to align separate text objects.. it seems disappointing to me!
> especially when it does it with other items such as wire no's ...
>
> Graham
Active Contributor
grahamLewis2010
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎09-15-2009
Message 5 of 13 (1,592 Views)

Re: aligning text attributes

02-23-2010 02:25 AM in reply to: grahamLewis2010
Hi Steve,

I have tried your autoLISP file but couldn't get it working... it loaded Ok but when i typed AATTR at the command prompt it returned "Unknown command "AATTR"... any ideas?

thanks

Graham
Graham
*Steve
Message 6 of 13 (1,592 Views)

Re: aligning text attributes

02-23-2010 07:18 AM in reply to: grahamLewis2010
Graham,

Looks like the first file I attached got corrupted. I have re-attached the
file to this post. Hope this one gets posted Ok.

Steve

"NickMcGarry2994" wrote in message news:6342138@discussion.autodesk.com...
> Hi Steve,
>
> I have tried your autoLISP file but couldn't get it working... it loaded
> Ok but when i typed AATTR at the command prompt it returned "Unknown
> command "AATTR"... any ideas?
>
> thanks
>
> Graham
>
*Steve
Message 7 of 13 (1,592 Views)

Re: aligning text attributes

02-23-2010 07:30 AM in reply to: grahamLewis2010
Graham,

Looks like the first file I attached was corrupt. I tried posting it again
and it was also corrupt. I think it might be the encoding I used when I
saved it, so I am trying to post again here with a different encoding, hope
this works :smileyhappy:.

Steve

"NickMcGarry2994" wrote in message news:6342138@discussion.autodesk.com...
> Hi Steve,
>
> I have tried your autoLISP file but couldn't get it working... it loaded
> Ok but when i typed AATTR at the command prompt it returned "Unknown
> command "AATTR"... any ideas?
>
> thanks
>
> Graham
>
Active Contributor
grahamLewis2010
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎09-15-2009
Message 8 of 13 (1,592 Views)

Re: aligning text attributes

02-23-2010 07:35 AM in reply to: grahamLewis2010
Hi Stave,

and thanks again... I am afraid it still didn't run... same problem.. any chance you could email the file directly to me?

graham@c-designs.co.uk

graham
Graham
*Steve
Message 9 of 13 (1,592 Views)

Re: aligning text attributes

02-23-2010 07:42 AM in reply to: grahamLewis2010
Graham,

Ok, Looks like there is an issue when I am attaching a text file, the files
are getting corrupted. I have reattached the file here in compressed
format, that should take care of the corruption issue.

If anyone has a suggestion as to why when I attached a text file it is
getting corrupt, it would be appreciated. After the file gets sent to the
NG, when I try and view it, it looks as if all the returns/linefeeds are
removed from the file. I tried to resave the file with UTF-8 encoding, but
had the same issue after uploading it.

Steve

"NickMcGarry2994" wrote in message news:6342138@discussion.autodesk.com...
> Hi Steve,
>
> I have tried your autoLISP file but couldn't get it working... it loaded
> Ok but when i typed AATTR at the command prompt it returned "Unknown
> command "AATTR"... any ideas?
>
> thanks
>
> Graham
>
Active Contributor
grahamLewis2010
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎09-15-2009
Message 10 of 13 (1,592 Views)

Re: aligning text attributes

02-23-2010 07:58 AM in reply to: grahamLewis2010
Steve,

manay thanks!

that's brilliant.. works very well.

Graham
Graham
Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.