AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

Reply
*Steve Kemp \(Autodesk\)
Message 11 of 16 (92 Views)

Re: AE2005 30 Day Trail Installation Problem

09-02-2004 09:54 AM in reply to: kcurry32
Keenan, Here is something else that you can try. Acade relies on MDAC for some of our database access, so we can try updating this on your machine. It would be best if we install version 2.5 of MDAC, since in versions 2.6 and on there was some components removed that we require. Here is a link to MDAC 2.5: http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?familyid=c57692e9-dde7-4a60-b586-5d4fd6794db6&languageid=f49e8428-7071-4979-8a67-3cffcb0c2524&displaylang=en After you install this, try Acade again. If you still have a problem, you might have to install the Jet drivers again, since the MDAC 2.5 does come with some of the Jet components also. I hope this help. I am running out of ideas. It could be an issue with Access 97 being on the machine since Acade 2005 does not support Access 97 and has moved to supporting Access 2000. If possible, you might see if there is another machine that you could install Acade 2005 onto, and see if it works there. Steve "kcurry32" wrote in message news:6200077.1094053794537.JavaMail.jive@jiveforum1.autodesk.com... > Steve, > > Here's the Jet Engine error that I got when I tried to install the Jet engine on the CD. > > I downloaded the late Jet Engine 4.0 SP8 from Microsoft's website. It installed but doesn't appear to help the problem. Another interesting thing is that if I try to open a *.mdb file from an Acade directory my system can not open it it MSAcess97. This is before and after the Jet Engine update. I get a dialogue box that says "unrecognized database format" appears listing the file that I tried to open. I'm wondering if this problem is contributing to my issue. > > Keenan
Active Member
kcurry32
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-19-2004
Message 12 of 16 (92 Views)

Re: AE2005 30 Day Trail Installation Problem

09-03-2004 02:30 PM in reply to: kcurry32
Hey Guys,

I tried install MDAC 2.5, but it would not install because it recognized that the files were already installed with W2k. I also tried to install MDAC 2.8 (the latest) and then reinstalling Jet 4.0 SP8 (as the MS wedsite suggested), but again, no luck. Anymore suggestions?

It's a little disappointing that the install relies on a later version of a program (ACC2000), as I understand you'll are saying. If this is the case, I'm shot, because Hallmark Cards (my employer) still uses Office97 as it's default office application and has no plans of changing anytime soon. What if I didn't have Office installed at all? Would this help (even though I have no way of installing it again myself, it's an IT controlled program)?

Thanks for all your suggestions so far. I'm hoping one of them will lick my problem (I only have 14 more days to try this program out before I'm able to recommend it or not to my staff and EE peers within the corporation. I'd sure like to try it first so that I can give it a fair shake, because your marketing department makes it sound very apealing to our needs.

Thanks again.

Keenan
*Jared Bunch \(Autodesk, Inc.\)
Message 13 of 16 (92 Views)

Re: AE2005 30 Day Trail Installation Problem

09-03-2004 04:51 PM in reply to: kcurry32
Keenan We do not believe that the Office '97 should be causing an issue, we were just saying that since it is such an old product we no longer test with it and therefore do no know of all the results or affects that could happen. Office is not even required to run Electrical, so the only thing you would have to do for '97 is convert any of the mdb files if you would want to edit them in access. Have you attempted to install this on any other machine? Also, what rights do you have? It sounds like your company is fairly strict and IT monitors things pretty closely. If that is the case, you may not have the full Administrator rights that are needed to install the program correctly. My next suggestion would be, get IT involved, have them login to the machine so that they have full admin rights on the machine, then run the "repair" option from the CD. Let's give that a try and see what happens. If you could also get someone else to try installing it, or take the CD home and install it there, that could help narrow it down to something on that particular machine, but again, no matter what machine you go to install on, you must have full admin rights to install the program. -- ---- Regards, Jared Bunch Technical Support Specialist Autodesk, Inc. -------------------------------------------------------- "kcurry32" wrote in message news:25731089.1094247057038.JavaMail.jive@jiveforum1.autodesk.com... > Hey Guys, > > I tried install MDAC 2.5, but it would not install because it recognized that the files were already installed with W2k. I also tried to install MDAC 2.8 (the latest) and then reinstalling Jet 4.0 SP8 (as the MS wedsite suggested), but again, no luck. Anymore suggestions? > > It's a little disappointing that the install relies on a later version of a program (ACC2000), as I understand you'll are saying. If this is the case, I'm shot, because Hallmark Cards (my employer) still uses Office97 as it's default office application and has no plans of changing anytime soon. What if I didn't have Office installed at all? Would this help (even though I have no way of installing it again myself, it's an IT controlled program)? > > Thanks for all your suggestions so far. I'm hoping one of them will lick my problem (I only have 14 more days to try this program out before I'm able to recommend it or not to my staff and EE peers within the corporation. I'd sure like to try it first so that I can give it a fair shake, because your marketing department makes it sound very apealing to our needs. > > Thanks again. > > Keenan
Active Member
kcurry32
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-19-2004
Message 14 of 16 (92 Views)

Re: AE2005 30 Day Trail Installation Problem

09-07-2004 07:31 AM in reply to: kcurry32
Jared,

I will try to install it on another machine that I have admin rights on or have my IT guy do it for me. I do have full local admin rights on the machine that I installed it on.

Is there a possibility that I have a corrupt wd_mdb.arx file? When I run Acad 2005 and try to load applications in the Acade directory (all the *.arx files), all of them load but the wd_mdb.arx file. I'm just wondering why it's not loading properly.

Thanks,
Keenan
*Steve Kemp \(Autodesk\)
Message 15 of 16 (92 Views)

Re: AE2005 30 Day Trail Installation Problem

09-07-2004 11:22 AM in reply to: kcurry32
Keenan, When you say you load all the ARX files from Acade, are you loading all of them from the folder: C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Acade 2005\Acade What exact message does it give you when you try and load the wd_mdb.arx file? How are you tring to load these ARX files? Using APPLOAD, type in the (arxload "{path}/wd_arx"), or the ARX command from the command line? I was just wondering, because sometime each of these will give a different error message during loading and some are more informative then others, so you might try all these ways of loading this file. I seem to be able to load this file on my Acad 2005 fine. It looks like if there was en error during loading, you would see this when Acade starts up though. And if this file does not get loaded during the initialization of Acade, a crash would not occur in this arx, since it would not be loaded. As for needing Office installed, only my main machine has Office installed, the other machines have no version of Office installed on them at all. Steve "kcurry32" wrote in message news:10593240.1094567492822.JavaMail.jive@jiveforum1.autodesk.com... > Jared, > > I will try to install it on another machine that I have admin rights on or have my IT guy do it for me. I do have full local admin rights on the machine that I installed it on. > > Is there a possibility that I have a corrupt wd_mdb.arx file? When I run Acad 2005 and try to load applications in the Acade directory (all the *.arx files), all of them load but the wd_mdb.arx file. I'm just wondering why it's not loading properly. > > Thanks, > Keenan
Active Member
kcurry32
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-19-2004
Message 16 of 16 (92 Views)

Re: AE2005 30 Day Trail Installation Problem

09-09-2004 02:02 PM in reply to: kcurry32
Steve,

First of all, I did get Acade 2005 to load and run fine on another machine. That machine also has Office97 on it, so you are definitely correct that Office97 has nothing to do with my issue.

The dialogue box for the error says in the title bar, "Exception in C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Acade 2005\Acade\wd_mdb.arx ARX Command"
Body of dialogue Box:
Unhandled Exception E06D7363 (eo6d7363h) at address 7C57E592h

This is the same message that occurs when I start Acade. Therefore, whether I start Acade or Acad 2005 and then launch the APPLOAD command for that ARX file (wd_mdb.arx), I get the same message.

Hopefully, we can still find the problem with the application running on my own PC. The other PC where Acade installed fine is a little inconvenient to use because it is the departments laptop.

Thanks for your help

Keenan Curry
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.