AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
Vahees
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎05-26-2005
Message 1 of 11 (1,023 Views)

Add Rung - Can't see it.

1023 Views, 10 Replies
06-14-2005 01:02 PM
Hi,
I had to add a rung in my ladder but when I try to add a rung in a ladder, I see the message “1 inserted” however I could see no rungs added. My ladder width is 4” and the spacing is 1”. My grid is 1” and my snap is 0.5”.
What is the setting I am missing here?
What are the other settings I should watch for when play around with ladders?
Distinguished Contributor
amt_controls
Posts: 112
Registered: ‎12-23-2003
Message 2 of 11 (1,023 Views)

Re: Add Rung - Can't see it.

06-15-2005 06:19 AM in reply to: Vahees
Just a quick check. Do you have any of your onsnaps on?
Active Contributor
Vahees
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎05-26-2005
Message 3 of 11 (1,023 Views)

Re: Add Rung - Can't see it.

06-15-2005 07:57 AM in reply to: Vahees
Hi,
The onsnaps were on so I turned off every thing, but still it didn't show the inserted line, and same as I mentioned above, it shows "1 inserted" in the command.
mm...what else?
Active Contributor
penmouse26
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎02-25-2005
Message 4 of 11 (1,023 Views)

Re: Add Rung - Can't see it.

06-15-2005 08:25 AM in reply to: Vahees
Just checking, is the current layer turned off?
Active Contributor
Vahees
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎05-26-2005
Message 5 of 11 (1,023 Views)

Re: Add Rung - Can't see it.

06-15-2005 10:37 AM in reply to: Vahees
Hi,
Forgive me for a silly question. How do I know weather current layer is turned off or on?
Active Contributor
penmouse26
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎02-25-2005
Message 6 of 11 (1,023 Views)

Re: Add Rung - Can't see it.

06-15-2005 10:50 AM in reply to: Vahees
Just below the Folder Icon (Upper left corner of the display) you should see the light bulb and to the right the name of the current layer. If this light bulb is not on you will not see and lines drawn. You may also check to see if the default wire (rung) layer is turned off. Too the left of the light bulb you should see what looks like a stack of papers icon. Click on that and you'll get to the layer properties manager dialog. if any light bulbs are off indicates the layer in not being displayed. Hope this helps.
Dave
Active Contributor
Vahees
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎05-26-2005
Message 7 of 11 (1,023 Views)

Re: Add Rung - Can't see it.

06-15-2005 12:03 PM in reply to: Vahees
Hi,
Thanks for the details. The layers are ok, they look as they should be.
My problem is, I could add a wire between 2 rungs manually, and its visible. Only the add rung is not working.
Active Contributor
penmouse26
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎02-25-2005
Message 8 of 11 (1,023 Views)

Re: Add Rung - Can't see it.

06-15-2005 12:13 PM in reply to: Vahees
Sorry I don't think I can be of any help without seeing the drawing. If you want to attach it I'll look at it this evening.
Dave
Active Contributor
Vahees
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎05-26-2005
Message 9 of 11 (1,023 Views)

Re: Add Rung - Can't see it.

06-15-2005 12:23 PM in reply to: Vahees
Hi,
Thanks a lot for trying to help me here..
I attached the file now.
Active Contributor
penmouse26
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎02-25-2005
Message 10 of 11 (1,023 Views)

Re: Add Rung - Can't see it.

06-15-2005 12:43 PM in reply to: Vahees
Your sample Test.dwg has rungs on each line number.
I erased the rungs using the wire cutter button. Added 4 rungs using the insert rung button. All worked fine.

If you are trying to add a rung in between the line numbers you need to draw a wire. Insert rung will only place a wire on the line number.
Dave
Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.