AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
srobinson
Posts: 116
Registered: ‎12-13-2007
Message 1 of 8 (656 Views)
Accepted Solution

AcePmComServer Error

656 Views, 7 Replies
12-21-2010 07:41 AM

Software-ACADE2011 V2.1

System-XP 64 bit

Netework installation

Using vault 2011

 

I have been getting this error since installation and it basically happens anytime I do a project update, title block update, or change a drawing property in a drawing that is NOT the current one. I installed ACADE on our other cad guys machine and he is not having the problem, but is on Vista 32 bit. My graphics card is on the approved list as well. I did an uninstall/install (not complete uninstall) and still have the issue. I did not have this issue with 2010 and my folder structure, custom files, etc is exactly the same set-up as 2010. If I get it in the middle of a project update certain things wont update properly and drawings will be wrong so this is a pretty serious issue.

Ok there I found the hotfix, which was put up recently. We will see if this works. Here is the link:

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=16173592&linkID=9240738

Distinguished Contributor
srobinson
Posts: 116
Registered: ‎12-13-2007
Message 2 of 8 (621 Views)

Re: AcePmComServer Error

12-28-2010 07:42 AM in reply to: srobinson

Still having this issue....

Distinguished Contributor
srobinson
Posts: 116
Registered: ‎12-13-2007
Message 3 of 8 (519 Views)

Re: AcePmComServer Error

02-01-2011 07:38 AM in reply to: srobinson

Still having this issue. Other CAD guy is having it now as well. Only workaround is closing ACAD,  reopening, and  trying again.  Starting to think by the lack of help on this matter it is a bug on autocads end. Complete reinstallations do nothing...

*Expert Elite*
dougmcalexander
Posts: 3,216
Registered: ‎10-18-2003
Message 4 of 8 (512 Views)

Re: AcePmComServer Error

02-01-2011 10:25 AM in reply to: srobinson

There were some updates that resolved such errors.  I am using version 2011 but I don't recall seeing this error since version 2008 or maybe 2009.

Doug McAlexander
Independent Consultant/Instructor/Mentor specializing in AutoCAD Electrical, ecscad, and promis-e implementation

Web site: www.ECADConsultant.com
Phone: (770) 841-8009

Please Accept as Solution if I helped you. Kudos are also much appreciated.
Distinguished Contributor
srobinson
Posts: 116
Registered: ‎12-13-2007
Message 5 of 8 (509 Views)

Re: AcePmComServer Error

02-01-2011 10:28 AM in reply to: srobinson

What did it pertain to in 2008, or was it fixed with an update?

*Expert Elite*
dougmcalexander
Posts: 3,216
Registered: ‎10-18-2003
Message 6 of 8 (507 Views)

Re: AcePmComServer Error

02-01-2011 10:32 AM in reply to: srobinson

If you search the forum there are a few postings about this.  The latest is at the URL below.  I remember the chief engineer posting some questions about it some point as well, but again this was a long time ago.  There were hotfixes that solved it for both 2008 and 2009, as I recall. I've never see the issue with 2010 or 2011 though.

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-Electrical/AcePmComServer6-exe-Error-Again-and-again-and/td-p/...

Doug McAlexander
Independent Consultant/Instructor/Mentor specializing in AutoCAD Electrical, ecscad, and promis-e implementation

Web site: www.ECADConsultant.com
Phone: (770) 841-8009

Please Accept as Solution if I helped you. Kudos are also much appreciated.
Distinguished Contributor
srobinson
Posts: 116
Registered: ‎12-13-2007
Message 7 of 8 (504 Views)

Re: AcePmComServer Error

02-01-2011 10:39 AM in reply to: dougmcalexander

Ok there I found the hotfix, which was put up recently. We will see if this works. Here is the link:

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=16173592&linkID=9240738

*Expert Elite*
dougmcalexander
Posts: 3,216
Registered: ‎10-18-2003
Message 8 of 8 (501 Views)

Re: AcePmComServer Error

02-01-2011 11:06 AM in reply to: srobinson

Glad you found it.  I have not had any crashes with version 2011 since update 1, but everyone's PC can react differently.  I have been getting an error beep and .err file every once in a while as I exit Electrical, but everything seems to function.

Doug McAlexander
Independent Consultant/Instructor/Mentor specializing in AutoCAD Electrical, ecscad, and promis-e implementation

Web site: www.ECADConsultant.com
Phone: (770) 841-8009

Please Accept as Solution if I helped you. Kudos are also much appreciated.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.