AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
Tim_L
Posts: 130
Registered: ‎10-25-2005
Message 1 of 4 (516 Views)
Accepted Solution

ACE2011 to ACE2012 default_cat.mdb merge?

516 Views, 3 Replies
12-12-2011 10:31 AM

Hi,

 

Once again I hope there is a painless solution with ACE2012.  ACE2011 did not seem to work very well for us.  We use the default catalog bundled with each new version of ACE and have this same issue every time.  The DB is on the network so all of us can add information to supplied part records (ie add our internal part number to USER1 field and internal description to USER2 filed) and add new records with related info for parts/records not supplied with catalog.  Now we have hundreds of modified parts/records and just as many new parts that have been added to the ACE2011 default catalog.  I would like to use the new catalog supplied with ACE2012. Has anyone found a any way to merge the two data bases in such a way that nothing is over written in ACE2012, just populating empty fields (USER1, USER2) with data from ACE2011 and adding parts/records to ACE2012 that are new in ACE2011.  In the past we have done this one part/record at a time, piece by piece as we need them.  It sure would be a help if there was a tool or procedure that would do the job in one fell swoop.

 

Thank you

Sorry it has been awhile.  Just got back to this one.  Had to do a little searching to get the whole story but you put me on the right path Doug.  Everything worked better than I had hoped.  Thank you for the help.

*Expert Elite*
dougmcalexander
Posts: 3,204
Registered: ‎10-18-2003
Message 2 of 4 (507 Views)

Re: ACE2011 to ACE2012 default_cat.mdb merge?

12-12-2011 01:09 PM in reply to: Tim_L

I always use the MIgration Utility.  It only takes a few minutes. 

Doug McAlexander
Independent Consultant/Instructor/Mentor specializing in AutoCAD Electrical, ecscad, and promis-e implementation

Web site: www.ECADConsultant.com
Phone: (770) 841-8009

Please Accept as Solution if I helped you. Kudos are also much appreciated.
Distinguished Contributor
Tim_L
Posts: 130
Registered: ‎10-25-2005
Message 3 of 4 (473 Views)

Re: ACE2011 to ACE2012 default_cat.mdb merge?

01-04-2012 11:01 AM in reply to: dougmcalexander

Sorry it has been awhile.  Just got back to this one.  Had to do a little searching to get the whole story but you put me on the right path Doug.  Everything worked better than I had hoped.  Thank you for the help.

Distinguished Contributor
iomaxx
Posts: 178
Registered: ‎03-03-2006
Message 4 of 4 (388 Views)

Re: ACE2011 to ACE2012 default_cat.mdb merge?

03-22-2012 12:35 PM in reply to: Tim_L

doug,

i've been trying to merge the catalog and PLC databases so far without luck using the migration utility. Some of the part numbers aren't updating the description and user fields. there are a couple items i spot-checked and the field didn't update with the description and the user field entry we have in the 2009 ACADE database. In other parts, both fields updated, and in other instances, the new part wasn't even added during the migration. during migration i used MERGE and checked the MAINTAIN TEXTVALUE and MAINTAIN USER FIELDS. It's obvious that some parts are updating or being added if not in the 2012 MDB, but not all are. At this point, i just have to keep using the old library, but would rather not...

 

thoughts?

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.