AutoCAD Electrical Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD Electrical Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Electrical topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ACE 2013 Snap/wiring help

7 REPLIES 7
SOLVED
Message 1 of 8
wmmurphy
934 Views, 7 Replies

ACE 2013 Snap/wiring help

I am new to AutoCAD, and this program has the worst implementation of snap and wiring I have ever used, and it's been very difficult to get around the many issues suffered. Often times, I manually scoot segments, or just move points so that it appears connected. This is very troubling to me.

Issue 1: I get illogical S patterns that don't make sense between two points.

This has to do with the relay icon. It's just a circle with two points slapped on it. I am merely trying to add a wire to connect two relay icons, which are both rotated 90 degrees.

So, first I have grid snap on (at 0.125, x and y), then I align the two icons vertically.

Next, I hit the wire button, and connect the two relays. Note that this wire is crossing over a few other placed wires. It makes the proper gaps, but I am getting a wacky S pattern as opposed to a direct line with gaps. If they are aligned, then why is this happening? I have tried deleting and redrawing the parts with snap on/object snap on. It does not work. What's going on?

Issue 2: The snap is not absolute.

Lets say an object is placed in there, with the snap feature off. If I turn snap back on, and then move or scoot the part, then the object isn't snapping to my grid. It's going inbetween the grid lines. This is bizarre. Can I change a setting to ensure it snags onto my grid?

Issue 3: Not getting a gap.