AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
mcronin
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-17-2010
Message 1 of 18 (683 Views)

ACE 2013 item number update

683 Views, 17 Replies
08-29-2012 07:07 AM

Changing an item number in ACE 2013 on a panel component won't update other components of the same part number as it did in previous releases.

*Expert Elite*
dougmcalexander
Posts: 3,182
Registered: ‎10-18-2003
Message 2 of 18 (627 Views)

Re: ACE 2013 item number update

09-07-2012 10:30 AM in reply to: mcronin

I'm not sure what is happening in your case.  2013 is actually improved over all previous releases.  During the Panel Item Resequence routine, it back annotates the schematic and ensures that the item number for any given part number is the same for all related symbols across all peers (i.e. panel, schematic, 1-line, etc).  This is new and available only in release 2013. 

 

Note: 2013 even updates/reconciles any parts listed as Multiple Catalog entries to be sure that the panel footprint and schematic symbol item numbering matches.

Doug McAlexander
Independent Consultant/Instructor/Mentor specializing in AutoCAD Electrical, ecscad, and promis-e implementation

Web site: www.ECADConsultant.com
Phone: (770) 841-8009

Please Accept as Solution if I helped you. Kudos are also much appreciated.
Active Member
mcronin
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-17-2010
Message 3 of 18 (582 Views)

Re: ACE 2013 item number update

09-13-2012 05:19 AM in reply to: dougmcalexander

In earlier releases if you manually assigned an item number you were prompted to assign the new item number to all of the same catalog numbers in the project. This doesn,t happen in 2013. You can only assign the item number one at a time for all of the instances of the same catalog number. Very time consuming especially with terminal strips.

Product Support
mathalekar
Posts: 171
Registered: ‎11-14-2010
Message 4 of 18 (482 Views)

Re: ACE 2013 item number update

05-13-2013 01:04 AM in reply to: mcronin

The new item numbering allows user to keep sync between schematic & panel footprint. It is improved way of implementation than 2012 and earlier version which helps to reduce the duplications of item number in BOM. During the new changes in 2013 of item numbering feature, resequence also obey the check for consistent assignment across projects. You can assign one item number to terminal and run resequence to populate the item number across terminal strip by running resequence. If you want to change existing item number from say 1 to 2, then user "Fixed" attribute on panel footprint side and run item numbering to change across project. It is usually recommended to use resequence across project than using it per drawing basis.

Regards,
Mayuresh Athalekar
Autodesk AutoCAD Electrical Team !
Facebook Page : https://www.facebook.com/AutoCADElectrical
Blog Page : http://autodesk.typepad.com/systemsdesign/
YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL_6ApchKwjN-0Wh8PzIjA_O0P6HRazOwH
AutoCAD Electrical App: https://itunes.apple.com/app/autocad-electrical/id736763190
Active Contributor
dshood
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎01-05-2009
Message 5 of 18 (464 Views)

Re: ACE 2013 item number update

05-17-2013 06:20 AM in reply to: mathalekar

I also am a bit disappointed that this feature does not work like it used to, we need to get this fixed so the user is prompted when a new item number is assigned that it will change the others. We as users do not want to have multiple item numbers for the same part without having to resequence item numbers every time we change or add a part. It is easy to accidentally assign a duplicate or the wrong item number to a part.

 

 

Active Member
broth
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-01-2010
Message 6 of 18 (396 Views)

Re: ACE 2013 item number update

11-12-2013 12:43 PM in reply to: mcronin

This 'New and Improved Feature' is anything but. When I have to hunt down and manually re-number every instance of a particular part (like 20 or 30 terminals, plus others) it prevents me from working in an efficient manner. Very few of these addional 'Features' improve the usability of the product, but only hinder efficiency. This must be fixed.

Product Support
mathalekar
Posts: 171
Registered: ‎11-14-2010
Message 7 of 18 (387 Views)

Re: ACE 2013 item number update

11-12-2013 05:57 PM in reply to: broth

Hello Broth,

 

There are certain improvement needed for this feature and we have noted down suggestions/views from forum. However, if your requirement is not to have a very specific item number assigned to a component, you can resequence the entire project once your work is done. You can keep specific number fixed by checking the checkbox on panel footprint side as well, so that that will not get changed or duplicated when resequencing the number AERESEQUENCE. You do not have to manuall change the item number in this way. When doing resequence, we have made sure that the sync between panel footprint & schematic component is updated in our new improvenent for AutoCAD Electrical 2014.

Regards,
Mayuresh Athalekar
Autodesk AutoCAD Electrical Team !
Facebook Page : https://www.facebook.com/AutoCADElectrical
Blog Page : http://autodesk.typepad.com/systemsdesign/
YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL_6ApchKwjN-0Wh8PzIjA_O0P6HRazOwH
AutoCAD Electrical App: https://itunes.apple.com/app/autocad-electrical/id736763190
Active Member
broth
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-01-2010
Message 8 of 18 (377 Views)

Re: ACE 2013 item number update

11-13-2013 05:16 AM in reply to: mathalekar
Thanks;

I do appreciate your reply.

But, this is not what I meant. Many times during either the design phase
or in a re-use scenario, I may change the item number for a terminal (of
which there may be 20 or 30) from item #51 to item #47 (as an example) in
order to maintain some level of visual grouping within the BOM.

The fact that Autocad Electrical can no longer perform such a simple task
makes my job much harder. I will have a much more difficult time re-using
existing designs and making minor changes to them if the system cannot
keep the part number between the same parts consistent. Removing this
feature was an extremely foolish oversight, as now I run the very certain
risk that I will have several of the exact same parts have different part
numbers. How this make sense and is any kind of feature improvement
boggles the mind. After all, keeping part numbers straight should be (and
was) the very essence of the reason to use these packages. Now, you tell
me it does not do what it was originally designed to do. Manage part
numbers correctly.

Bruce A. Roth
Pall Corporation
Westborough Ma.
(508) 871-5398
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Attention:

This communication may contain information that is confidential,
privileged and/or exempt from disclosure under applicable law.
If you are not the intended recipient, please notify the sender
immediately and delete the original, all attachments, and all
copies of this communication.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
dougmcalexander
Posts: 3,182
Registered: ‎10-18-2003
Message 9 of 18 (369 Views)

Re: ACE 2013 item number update

11-13-2013 07:17 AM in reply to: mcronin

I've been using this software since 1997. I can shed some light on the item numbering. Originally there was no automation. You manually typed in every item number, or you could click next for the next available number. Later, the ability to assign the item numbers automatically was introduced, The assignment was made based upon the location in the panel layout, according to the sort setting in drawing properties (i.e
Top to bottom from left to right). You could still assign manually if you prefer. You can assign manually today.

 

Version 2009 introduced an enhancement where the software checks to see if a particular MFG and CAT combination has already been assigned an item number, thus preventing the possibility of the same part number receiving multiple item numbers.

 

At the request of the customer base the item number resequence utility was improved in version 2011 so the software can automatically assign the item numbers alphabetically by manufacturer (big time-saver) to allow the BOM to be arranged numerically, while keeping all parts from the same manufacturer grouped together.

There is one flaw. The software is assigning alphabetically but first by drawing order and then alphabetically, so it is still possible to have parts from the same manufacturer split into multiple groups in the BOM. If Square-D parts are on sheet 2 and Allen-Bradley parts are on sheet 3, Square-D could be assigned item number 1, thus the numbering isn't truly alphabetical by manufacturer. I have reported this to Autodesk. If other Square-D parts are on sheet 3, they will most likely be assigned a number that is higher than the AB parts on the same drawing, thus it would also be possible for Square-D parts to be split into two groups in the panel. Again Autodesk has been notified of this. It is causing some users to lose valuable time rearranging their BOM manually.

Note that the item number resequence does allow you to select to number only new components that did not exist in the panel earlier, thus preserving any previously assigned values. New components get assigned the next available number. This places them at the bottom of a numerically sorted BOM, but this is of course necessary in the case where the panel was already released.

Doug McAlexander
Independent Consultant/Instructor/Mentor specializing in AutoCAD Electrical, ecscad, and promis-e implementation

Web site: www.ECADConsultant.com
Phone: (770) 841-8009

Please Accept as Solution if I helped you. Kudos are also much appreciated.
Active Member
broth
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-01-2010
Message 10 of 18 (354 Views)

Re: ACE 2013 item number update

11-13-2013 08:34 AM in reply to: dougmcalexander
Gentlemen;

Apparently, you are not really reading my posts and understanding what the
problem is.

Bruce A. Roth
Pall Corporation
Westborough Ma.
(508) 871-5398
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Attention:

This communication may contain information that is confidential,
privileged and/or exempt from disclosure under applicable law.
If you are not the intended recipient, please notify the sender
immediately and delete the original, all attachments, and all
copies of this communication.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.