AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
SamElkink
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-17-2012
Message 1 of 11 (290 Views)

ACE 2013 access violation

290 Views, 10 Replies
07-02-2012 10:08 PM

My AutoCAD 2013 crashes constantly, I cannot do more then 10 mins of work without a crash.

 

Capture.JPG

 

I think the numbers are not always the same.

 

I am editing a project I started with ACE 2012

 

Please help, I have sent numerous reports. This is nearly unusable.

 

Thanks in advance.

Sam

Active Member
SamElkink
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-17-2012
Message 2 of 11 (289 Views)

Re: ACE 2013 access violation

07-02-2012 10:11 PM in reply to: SamElkink

I am running it on a Windows 7 64 bit computer.

*Expert Elite*
Icemanau
Posts: 941
Registered: ‎06-01-2010
Message 3 of 11 (287 Views)

Re: ACE 2013 access violation

07-02-2012 10:26 PM in reply to: SamElkink

Does it crash ONLY when you work on a particular set of dwgs?

 

Can you work longer than 10m if you start a new dwg directly after startup without opening any old dwgs?

 

Do you have all updates and hotfixes installed?

 

Are you having crashes in any other programs?

 

Regards Brad

Icemanau (NNTP handle: Brad Coleman)


Active Member
SamElkink
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-17-2012
Message 4 of 11 (274 Views)

Re: ACE 2013 access violation

07-03-2012 10:32 PM in reply to: Icemanau

Thanks for trying to help me Brad

 

All my drawings were started on an older ACE, and all crash. Seems to crash less often if I close each drawing before opening another one to make alterations.

 

I have not needed to start a new project, and I am away from my licence server at the moment so cannot test. So I am unsure.

 

The only hotfix I can find is related to cloud sync warnings, and I have installed this one.

 

No other programs crash, and my old ACE 2012 worked fine. It is only 2013. I uninstalled 2012, cleaned out everything AutoCAD related (as per recomendations) and installed 2013, (Done this twice).

 

Thanks

Sam

*Expert Elite*
Icemanau
Posts: 941
Registered: ‎06-01-2010
Message 5 of 11 (270 Views)

Re: ACE 2013 access violation

07-03-2012 11:01 PM in reply to: SamElkink

A couple more questions...

 

Does a dwg audit do anything, note that this is not the electrical function that checks electrical funcionality but the ACAD one that checks the actual dwg itself for corruption or errors.

 

If you copy the dwg and work on the copy, does that help?

 

Have you tried copying and pasting the contents of the dwg to a new dwg and then working on it?

 

Regards Brad

Icemanau (NNTP handle: Brad Coleman)


Active Member
SamElkink
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-17-2012
Message 6 of 11 (256 Views)

Re: ACE 2013 access violation

07-05-2012 03:04 PM in reply to: Icemanau

I opened up my ACE, opened up a drawing and tried the audit, came up with nothing. Opened a second drawing and ran the audit, nothing. Clicked the close button on ACE and it asked if i would like to save each drawing as it was closing, then as it was closing the second drawing I got another Access Violation.

 

I started a new project and copied 5 of the drawings I was working on (all drawings were created in ACE 2013) into this new project, but still got the same crash.

 

I have not tried copying everything out of a drawing yet, but the crashes seem to happen more often if I have more then one drawing open, or if I use the previous/next drawing buttons.

 

Thanks

Sam

*Expert Elite*
Icemanau
Posts: 941
Registered: ‎06-01-2010
Message 7 of 11 (253 Views)

Re: ACE 2013 access violation

07-05-2012 03:35 PM in reply to: SamElkink

Try doing a repair install of ACE. This may fix the problem.

 

If the repair doesn't work, you may want to try a full re-install. just remember to export your licence before the re-install and import it again after it's finished.

 

You may also have a hardware problem.

Are any other memory intensive programs crashing? You may have a bad stick of RAM.

Get your IT department to run a disk check to see if there may be any bad sectors on the hard drive as it may be failing.

 

Regards Brad

Icemanau (NNTP handle: Brad Coleman)


Active Member
SamElkink
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-17-2012
Message 8 of 11 (250 Views)

Re: ACE 2013 access violation

07-05-2012 04:22 PM in reply to: Icemanau

Before I wrote on this forum I tried the repair, same issue. Then tried the full clean out (again) and reinstall, same issue.

 

This crash only started since I started using ACE 2013, ACE 2012 worked without issue.

 

I have run all the hardware checks and it all comes out clean.

 

I run Solidworks 2012 that is resource hungry without issue.

 

I run virtual machines, sometimes two at a time, and never have any issues.This can use up to 9Gb of the 10Gb I have on my machine.

 

I do not believe this is a hardware issue.

*Expert Elite*
Icemanau
Posts: 941
Registered: ‎06-01-2010
Message 9 of 11 (245 Views)

Re: ACE 2013 access violation

07-05-2012 09:09 PM in reply to: SamElkink

I'm out of ideas then.

 

Hopefully someone else will be able to help more.

 

Regards Brad

Icemanau (NNTP handle: Brad Coleman)


Active Member
SamElkink
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-17-2012
Message 10 of 11 (234 Views)

Re: ACE 2013 access violation

07-08-2012 02:06 PM in reply to: Icemanau

Thanks for trying to help me Brad.

 

Hope someone else has seen this problem before.

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.