AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

Reply
Member
mjkasper
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-21-2011
Message 1 of 11 (958 Views)

ACE 2010 x64 unable to communicate with project database service

958 Views, 10 Replies
05-21-2011 07:28 PM

After installing on Winodws 7 x64 I receive the subject error.

 

I have uninstalled & reinstalled.

 

Further details from the project database service:

Unable to connect to Access database 'C:\Users\xxx\AppData\Roaming\Autodesk\AutoCAD Electrical 2010\R18.0\enu\Support\user\PP113446-10.mdb'
-----------

 

I can create & delete files in the subject directory... even attempted a blank dumby mdb with the same error.

 

HELP!

Employee
murnenp
Posts: 648
Registered: ‎08-01-2007
Message 2 of 11 (936 Views)

Re: ACE 2010 x64 unable to communicate with project database service

05-25-2011 05:08 AM in reply to: mjkasper

I am sorry you are having trouble. This is not my area of expertise so I have forwarded this on to someone else here who should be able to help.

 

I will keep an eye on this posting to make sure it is followed up on.

 

Regards,

Pat Murnen



Pat Murnen
Principal Content Developer
Information Modeling and Platform Products Group

Autodesk, Inc.

Employee
MinKeng
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎05-03-2007
Message 3 of 11 (922 Views)

Re: ACE 2010 x64 unable to communicate with project database service

05-25-2011 11:08 PM in reply to: mjkasper

Hi mjkasper,

 

Can you please start Windows Task Manager and check if acepmcomserver8 is running?

Remove all the MDB files in support folder and relaunch the application and see if it is working.

 

Thanks.

 

Regards,

Min Keng

 

Member
mjkasper
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-21-2011
Message 4 of 11 (908 Views)

Re: ACE 2010 x64 unable to communicate with project database service

05-26-2011 04:30 AM in reply to: MinKeng

This is ACE 2010...

 

AcePmComServer7.exe is running. Should this really be AcePmComServer8?

 

Erased all MDB's earlier - still not luck

 

 

Employee
MinKeng
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎05-03-2007
Message 5 of 11 (894 Views)

Re: ACE 2010 x64 unable to communicate with project database service

05-26-2011 06:16 PM in reply to: mjkasper

Hi,

 

Can you please send us a snapshot of the task dialog? Database jet engine may not work properly due to some 32bit application running in x64 OS. We need you to try the following:

 

  1. Go to task manager and check if acepmdb32.exe is running with acepmcomserver7.exe?
  2. If it’s not running, please execute %ProgramFiles%\Autodesk\Acade 2010\Acade\x86\acepmdb32.exe manually.

Thanks,

Min Keng

Member
mjkasper
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-21-2011
Message 6 of 11 (882 Views)

Re: ACE 2010 x64 unable to communicate with project database service

05-27-2011 04:55 AM in reply to: MinKeng

acepmdb32.exe  was not running.  I started it manually - but still receive the project database error.

 

Attached snap shot of task manager is after I manually started acepmdb32.exe.

 

I also restarted ACADE, rebooted computer the started acepmdb32.exe, then attempted to start ACADE... all with no luck.

Employee
MinKeng
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎05-03-2007
Message 7 of 11 (866 Views)

Re: ACE 2010 x64 unable to communicate with project database service

05-29-2011 07:52 PM in reply to: mjkasper

Hi,

 

Can you please see if the following steps resolve your problem?

 

1) Exit AutoCAD Electrical
2) From Start menu select ‘Run’ or go to a command prompt
3) Type in:  ‘regsvr32 c:\Windows\SysWOW64\msjet40.dll’ and press Enter.  

    You should receive a Succeeded message
4) Type in:  ‘regsvr32 c:\Windows\SysWOW64\msjetoledb40.dll’ and press Enter. 

    You should receive a Succeeded message

 

Thanks,

Min Keng

Member
mjkasper
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-21-2011
Message 8 of 11 (853 Views)

Re: ACE 2010 x64 unable to communicate with project database service

05-31-2011 04:01 AM in reply to: MinKeng

After registering both DLL's, restarting the computer, manually starting AcePmDb32.exe, then starting ACADE I still receive the same error... unable to connect to the project database.

Member
mjkasper
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-21-2011
Message 9 of 11 (817 Views)

Re: ACE 2010 x64 unable to communicate with project database service

06-04-2011 05:12 AM in reply to: mjkasper

any more suggestions?  My work is backing up and I NEED to get ACADE working....

Employee
MinKeng
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎05-03-2007
Message 10 of 11 (809 Views)

Re: ACE 2010 x64 unable to communicate with project database service

06-04-2011 07:49 AM in reply to: mjkasper
I am getting some engineers to work on this for you. In the meantime, is there any other machine that can get this working first?
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.