AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

Reply
Member
carlmerk
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-09-2012
Message 1 of 9 (1,382 Views)

Acad Electrical 13 - changing Reference Line Number Text Font Size

1382 Views, 8 Replies
07-09-2012 02:57 PM

Hello,

 

First timer. How do you increase the text size for the line numbers in a schematic.

 

I only have 25 lines but the font is to small to read

 

Thanks

 

Carl

 

*Expert Elite*
Icemanau
Posts: 1,007
Registered: ‎06-01-2010
Message 2 of 9 (1,376 Views)

Re: Acad Electrical 13 - changing Reference Line Number Text Font Size

07-09-2012 08:12 PM in reply to: carlmerk

Two ways to fix it....

 

Non permenant fix is to go to the attribute dialog and select size. Put in the size you require and then select the "Type It'

mode. Now type in WIRE*.

 

This will go through the dwg and change all occurencences of wire* to the size requested. NOTE you will need to go through and adjust the inline wire gaps if you have wire numbers embedded into the wire.

 

The permenant fix is to actually edit the blocks used for the wire numbers. Just select all the attributes in the centre of the block and set them to the font and size you require. Save the blocks and update them throughout the project.

 

Regards Brad

Icemanau (NNTP handle: Brad Coleman)


*Expert Elite*
testsubject
Posts: 1,096
Registered: ‎03-09-2004
Message 3 of 9 (1,367 Views)

Re: Acad Electrical 13 - changing Reference Line Number Text Font Size

07-10-2012 06:42 AM in reply to: Icemanau

Carl,

 

If the line numbers are too small, you need to check the the Feature Scale Multiplier located  by Right Clicking on the drawing in the project list and selecting

 

Properties\Drawing Properties\Drawing Format Tab.

 

It should look like this if you are using jic (area in red rectangle)

 

DP.jpg

 

I tried with setting the FSM to 0.1 and the line numbers became very small.

 

I have noticed that if you are working with a drawing that was originally set up for IEC and then switch to jic, something like this happens.

 

What drawing style are you using?

 

It would help if you post a copy of the drawing you are using for us to look at...

Bob Hanrahan
Ace User since 1998
Member
carlmerk
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-09-2012
Message 4 of 9 (1,364 Views)

Re: Acad Electrical 13 - changing Reference Line Number Text Font Size

07-10-2012 08:08 AM in reply to: carlmerk

Thanks for the quick responses. Here are some screen shots of the problem

 

Example #1- The numbers are properly sized for B size border

 

                       acad1.png

 

Example #2 - Here is what they look like with a D size / text to small

 

 

 acad2.png

 

 

Not sure how to increase text

 

Just dusted off my old VIA/WD from years ago / looks like this is all based on the WD

 

Carl

 

*Expert Elite*
testsubject
Posts: 1,096
Registered: ‎03-09-2004
Message 5 of 9 (1,361 Views)

Re: Acad Electrical 13 - changing Reference Line Number Text Font Size

07-10-2012 08:44 AM in reply to: carlmerk

Carl,

 

If you were to print out the B-Size and D-Size print (fule scale) you will probably notice that the text is the same size. It will appear smaller if you print the D-Size on a B-Size sheet.

 

The line number will not be your only problem. All the symbols will have this problem. You can try using the jic125 library but I do not think it will be large enough.

 

Ace works very well on B-Size prints. If you want everything to be legible when a D-Size print is printed on a B-Size sheet, you will need to double the Feature Scale of all the symbols. If you were to do that though, you would not be able to fit more symbols on the sheet; you would have just made everything bigger and would have been better off doing everything on a B-Size print anyway.

 

Just my 0.02...

Bob Hanrahan
Ace User since 1998
Member
carlmerk
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-09-2012
Message 6 of 9 (1,357 Views)

Re: Acad Electrical 13 - changing Reference Line Number Text Font Size

07-10-2012 10:44 AM in reply to: testsubject

Bob,

 

I am going to try to change the STANDARD to B - size here at a-i. This has been the standard at other companies I have worked for.

 

Thanks for you help

 

Carl

 

Active Contributor
btackes
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎05-13-2011
Message 7 of 9 (1,352 Views)

Re: Acad Electrical 13 - changing Reference Line Number Text Font Size

07-10-2012 01:55 PM in reply to: carlmerk

The size of the reference numbers is based on the WD_MLRH or WD_MLRV block attribute size.  You can also use an optional WD_MLRHX or WD_MLRVX block.

 

PER Help file:

WD_M.dwg

Block insert consisting of about 50 invisible attributes. They carry the settings of the drawing.

WD_PNLM.dwg

Optional block insert consisting of several invisible attributes. They carry the settings of the drawing for panel layout functions.

WD_MLRH.dwg

Block insert that carries the first line reference number of a ladder and additional information such as rung spacing and ladder length.

WD_MLRV.dwg

Same as previous symbol, but for a ladder that lies on its side.

WD_MLRHX.dwg

 

 

 

 

 

Optional, user-defined alternative to WD_MLRH.dwg. AutoCAD Electrical uses this symbol name when you select 'User Block' from the Line Reference Numbers subdialog box of the Drawing Properties > Drawing Format dialog box (on the Drawing Properties > Drawing Format dialog box, Format Referencing section, select Reference Numbers and click Setup).

WD_MLRVX.dwg

 

Same as previous symbol, but for a ladder that lies on its side.

 

NoteThe ladder line reference block used by AutoCAD Electrical is determined by the ladder reference configuration selected in the Format Referencing section of the Drawing Properties > Drawing Format dialog box.
Contributor
controlsgirl
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎09-07-2012
Message 8 of 9 (1,195 Views)

Re: Acad Electrical 13 - changing Reference Line Number Text Font Size

11-26-2012 10:49 AM in reply to: btackes

Thanks testsubject and btackes!! I was having a similar problem with my numbers being too large. I figured out that changing the feature scale helped but I really wanted to know why it was doing this as I jumped from old drawings created in regular ACAD, I believe. 

Contributor
controlsgirl
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎09-07-2012
Message 9 of 9 (950 Views)

Re: Acad Electrical 13 - changing Reference Line Number Text Font Size

02-24-2013 08:37 AM in reply to: carlmerk

Is there a fast an easy way that I could change the line reference numbers from one style to another ie hexagon to just a simple 5 digit number? When I delete the ladder lines, purge, change the drawing configuration, and then insert, it is hard to place the references in the same spot as they were before.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.