AutoCAD Civil 3D Wishes

AutoCAD Civil 3D Wishes

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
Nrhoads
Posts: 521
Registered: ‎06-14-2006
Message 1 of 15 (180 Views)

Survey Link in Civil 3d!

180 Views, 14 Replies
05-11-2007 10:42 AM
It is nice that Autodesk discontinued AutoCad Survey and added the two menus from it to C3D LDT Companion; but why not add the survey link program to the C3D survey menu? That is the way some of us still create FBK files.
*Jason Hickey
Message 2 of 15 (180 Views)

Re: Survey Link in Civil 3d!

05-11-2007 10:47 AM in reply to: Nrhoads
Nrhoads wrote:
> It is nice that Autodesk discontinued AutoCad Survey and added the
> two menus from it to C3D LDT Companion; but why not add the survey
> link program to the C3D survey menu? That is the way some of us
> still create FBK files.

This has been beat to death. It's a licensing issue with TDS (Trimble)
- email them instead of Autodesk.

You also have the option of purchasing Foresight DXM from TDS, which is
what they (Trimble) really wants you to do.

--
Jason Hickey

Civil 3D 2008
Dell Precision M70
2 GIG RAM, 256 MB nVidia Quadro FX Go1400
Intel Centrino 2 gHz Processor

www.civil3d.com
Distinguished Contributor
Nrhoads
Posts: 521
Registered: ‎06-14-2006
Message 3 of 15 (180 Views)

Re: Survey Link in Civil 3d!

05-11-2007 11:32 AM in reply to: Nrhoads
Let's beat it some more...
Foresight is too much trouble to set up, I tried it out using the demo. I have complained to TDS and they say they do not even know what I'm talking baout.
I thought the licensing issue meant TDS wasn't "allowing" Autodesk to include Survey Link in ANY product. If it is "allowed" to be in LDT Companion, then why not include it in C3D? That's all I'm saying!
*Jason Hickey
Message 4 of 15 (180 Views)

Re: Survey Link in Civil 3d!

05-11-2007 11:48 AM in reply to: Nrhoads
Nrhoads wrote:
> Let's beat it some more... Foresight is too much trouble to set up, I
> tried it out using the demo. I have complained to TDS and they say
> they do not even know what I'm talking baout. I thought the licensing
> issue meant TDS wasn't "allowing" Autodesk to include Survey Link in
> ANY product. If it is "allowed" to be in LDT Companion, then why not
> include it in C3D? That's all I'm saying!

TDS also says "What's Civil 3D?" I had TDS support ask me over the
phone "What is a LandXML schema?" No, really. Direct quote.

I'm telling you what I was told by Autodesk directly. Try buying
Survey Link - you can't, because the only thing available anymore is
Foresight DXM. It's just absolutely, positively, 100% not going to
happen. Autodesk has to pay TDS to include their program in LDT -
including it in Civil 3D would be another license issue, upping the cost
of your software, if TDS even allowed it. That's really it - no more
beating required.

--
Jason Hickey

Civil 3D 2008
Dell Precision M70
2 GIG RAM, 256 MB nVidia Quadro FX Go1400
Intel Centrino 2 gHz Processor

www.civil3d.com
Distinguished Contributor
Nrhoads
Posts: 521
Registered: ‎06-14-2006
Message 5 of 15 (180 Views)

Re: Survey Link in Civil 3d!

05-11-2007 11:58 AM in reply to: Nrhoads
How is Survey Link included in the "current" version of LDT Companion if it is not available anymore?
*Jason Hickey
Message 6 of 15 (180 Views)

Re: Survey Link in Civil 3d!

05-11-2007 12:05 PM in reply to: Nrhoads
Nrhoads wrote:
> How is Survey Link included in the "current" version of LDT Companion
> if it is not available anymore?

*sigh*

Nick, look at the release numbers. It's the same Survey Link that's
been there for a number of years. Go to www.tdsway.com and try to
purchase Survey Link if you really doubt me - at last check, it was not
available.

--
Jason Hickey

Civil 3D 2008
Dell Precision M70
2 GIG RAM, 256 MB nVidia Quadro FX Go1400
Intel Centrino 2 gHz Processor

www.civil3d.com
Distinguished Contributor
Nrhoads
Posts: 521
Registered: ‎06-14-2006
Message 7 of 15 (180 Views)

Re: Survey Link in Civil 3d!

05-11-2007 12:06 PM in reply to: Nrhoads
I do not doubt you and I knew it was the same version before "wishing". I just WISH it was in C3D so I would not have to open LDT to get to it...
*Jason Hickey
Message 8 of 15 (180 Views)

Re: Survey Link in Civil 3d!

05-11-2007 12:08 PM in reply to: Nrhoads
Nrhoads wrote:
> I do not doubt you and I knew it was the same version before
> "wishing". I just WISH it was in C3D so I would not have to open LDT
> to get to it.

not going to happen - what more can I tell you?

--
Jason Hickey

Civil 3D 2008
Dell Precision M70
2 GIG RAM, 256 MB nVidia Quadro FX Go1400
Intel Centrino 2 gHz Processor

www.civil3d.com
Distinguished Contributor
Nrhoads
Posts: 521
Registered: ‎06-14-2006
Message 9 of 15 (180 Views)

Re: Survey Link in Civil 3d!

05-11-2007 12:12 PM in reply to: Nrhoads
I just want the last word...
*Jason Hickey
Message 10 of 15 (180 Views)

Re: Survey Link in Civil 3d!

05-11-2007 12:50 PM in reply to: Nrhoads
Nrhoads wrote:
> I just want the last word...

ok, you can have it :smileywink:

--
Jason Hickey

Civil 3D 2008
Dell Precision M70
2 GIG RAM, 256 MB nVidia Quadro FX Go1400
Intel Centrino 2 gHz Processor

www.civil3d.com
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.