AutoCAD Civil 3D Wishes

AutoCAD Civil 3D Wishes

Reply
*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,524
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 1 of 3 (96 Views)

Permanent Volume Analysis Tool

96 Views, 2 Replies
11-26-2012 10:13 AM

I like using the volumes tool on the analysis tab of the ribbon.  I can create 10 entries, select base surfaces and comparison surfaces.  I can then edit my surfaces if necessary, and update the volumes.  I can export to .xml and open the file as a spreadsheet.  It works well.

 

The only problem is when I close the drawing, it's all gone.  If I want to do the same report, I need to recreate it from scratch.  Sometimes I have 20 or 30 entries!  It would be really nice if there was a way for this analysis tool to be saved in the drawing; perhaps as an object on the prospector.  Then I close, open, edit my surfaces, close, open edit some more, then spit out a report in seconds to .xml again.  That would be sweet.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

*Expert Elite*
Civil3DReminders.com
Posts: 2,559
Registered: ‎10-13-2005
Message 2 of 3 (78 Views)

Re: Permanent Volume Analysis Tool

12-02-2012 09:33 AM in reply to: troma

You should check out some of the buttons on the volume palette: http://blog.civil3dreminders.com/2012/12/saving-volume-analysis.html

 

While I do agree it would be nice if you didn't have to export out the list and import the list when you reopen in the drawing. The existing buttons should save you some time if you haven't discovered them yet, which it sounds like you haven't.

Civil Reminders
http://blog.civil3dreminders.com/
http://www.CivilReminders.com/
*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,524
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 3 of 3 (69 Views)

Re: Permanent Volume Analysis Tool

12-03-2012 06:50 AM in reply to: Civil3DReminders.com

Ok, so I have exported but never imported.  That would save some time.

Unforturnatly I rename surfaces sometimes, which I imagine would mess this up.  But if I knew where I was heading I could avoid that.

 

I still wish for an object in the prospector, like a volume surface created from multiple base and comparison surfaces.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!