AutoCAD Civil 3D Wishes

AutoCAD Civil 3D Wishes

Reply
Valued Contributor
wellston1
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎10-20-2008
Message 1 of 9 (2,254 Views)

OFFSET SURFACE

2254 Views, 8 Replies
07-22-2010 05:07 AM

Need to be able to offset a surface not just raise or lower a surface. If you need a civil 3d surface that is parallel from an original surface there is no easy way to achieve this now. However there is a new command SURFOFFSET in 2011 that does not work with a civil 3d surface, only a plain AutoCAD surface.

Contributor
mark.herrmann
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎12-12-2007
Message 2 of 9 (2,253 Views)

Re: OFFSET SURFACE

07-22-2010 06:12 AM in reply to: wellston1

Couldn't you just copy the surface, and raise/lower the copied entity?  I'm not saying a copy surface utility is a bad idea, but I think it's pretty quick and painless to manually copy and adjust.

*Expert Elite*
wfberry
Posts: 1,941
Registered: ‎09-05-2006
Message 3 of 9 (2,229 Views)

Re: OFFSET SURFACE

07-24-2010 10:29 AM in reply to: mark.herrmann

A surface moved normal to itself does not necessarily mean moving it vertically.

 

Bill

 

Contributor
bquinney
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎04-22-2010
Message 4 of 9 (2,128 Views)

Re: OFFSET SURFACE

08-25-2010 03:05 PM in reply to: wellston1

I believe what he was referring to was to do the following:

 

-'Copy', pick any basepoint

-'Paste', and type '@' for the same point.

 

This puts a duplicate in that occupies the same space. Then, you can raise/lower, edit, etc. your surface.

Civil 3D 2013
Dell Precision T7500, Windows 7, 64bit Pro
Xeon proc., 2 @ 2.13GHz
24GB RAM
Mentor
tyronebk
Posts: 187
Registered: ‎08-17-2007
Message 5 of 9 (2,113 Views)

Re: OFFSET SURFACE

08-26-2010 10:19 AM in reply to: bquinney
I think what the thread starter was asking for is a way to offset a surface, not simply raise and lower it. Think of the difference between offsetting a polyline versus simply copying it in one direction. See the attached example. I can't say I've had a need to offset a surface but could see the need in some cases.
Contributor
bquinney
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎04-22-2010
Message 6 of 9 (2,061 Views)

Re: OFFSET SURFACE

09-02-2010 12:23 PM in reply to: tyronebk

What "offsetting" does, is basically what I described. It will make a copy of the surface, rather than simply raise/lower it.

Civil 3D 2013
Dell Precision T7500, Windows 7, 64bit Pro
Xeon proc., 2 @ 2.13GHz
24GB RAM
Distinguished Mentor
Civil3DReminders
Posts: 910
Registered: ‎03-24-2009
Message 7 of 9 (2,052 Views)

Re: OFFSET SURFACE

09-02-2010 07:50 PM in reply to: bquinney

They want the surface to be offset normal to the traingle faces. Copying the surface and raising and lowering does not accomplish this.

Valued Contributor
peterthomson9209
Posts: 71
Registered: ‎04-22-2010
Message 8 of 9 (2,039 Views)

Re: OFFSET SURFACE

09-04-2010 03:28 AM in reply to: Civil3DReminders

Yes, I too would wish for this...and I will tel you where it would be very useful.

 

We use C3D for earthwork calculations for site preparation for large dam sites.

Many of these sites exist in steep-sided river valleys and the preliminary work usually requires us to say strip 6m depth off the existing surface.  Copying a pasted surface downwards does not remove 6m depth of material normal to the steep sides.

 

So, the ability to offset a surface as this poster is asking does in fact have a seriously useful purpose and I would use it reasonably frequently.

 

cheers,

Peter T

cheers,
Peter T
Dunedin, New Zealand.

C3D 2011, Win 7, Dell M6500, 8Gb RAM
Contributor
bquinney
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎04-22-2010
Message 9 of 9 (2,008 Views)

Re: OFFSET SURFACE

09-09-2010 09:21 AM in reply to: peterthomson9209

The explanation you have in its use does further explain how the feature would be beneficial, contrary to the copy/paste - raise/lower option.

Civil 3D 2013
Dell Precision T7500, Windows 7, 64bit Pro
Xeon proc., 2 @ 2.13GHz
24GB RAM
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.