AutoCAD Civil 3D Wishes

AutoCAD Civil 3D Wishes

Reply
Valued Contributor
jalneal
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎04-21-2008
Message 1 of 3 (161 Views)

Localize Masking for Data Shortcuts Please!

161 Views, 2 Replies
11-27-2011 02:59 PM

I really love the new feature in 2012 with alignments, where you can mask the alignment.  This has had the most use for me where multiple projects reference the same base alignment (state routes here in GA where I work.)   However, it seems masking has one big limiation - which makes me wonder if I'm even missing something.  When I use an alignment as a data shortcut, I cannot mask out parts of the alignment, which is where it seems this would be the most handy!  My workaround at present involves promoting existing alignments (assuming since they are existing they will not change) but I'm nervous that if the project goes a long time and survey data is updated or modified, or an error fixed, it won't be dynamically linked.   Since I have little reason to mask the parent alignment, I hope to see masking localized ot the local files in future releases. 

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alan Neal, P.E.
Autodesk Infrastructure Suite Premium 2012/2013
Windows 7, x64
Xeon E31225 w/ Quadro 600
Member
LK_Indy
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-16-2011
Message 2 of 3 (144 Views)

Re: Localize Masking for Data Shortcuts Please!

12-27-2011 06:30 AM in reply to: jalneal

Same issue here.  Guess we should add this to the "wish list".

Member
ravivaish
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-01-2011
Message 3 of 3 (112 Views)

Re: Localize Masking for Data Shortcuts Please!

03-13-2012 03:33 PM in reply to: jalneal

Having the same issue. Masking will be great for data shortcut alignments. Please include this!!

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.