Did you mean: 

Cartogramma extension

1 REPLY 1
Message 1 of 2
tcorey
1358 Views, 1 Reply

Cartogramma extension

Hello all,

I have been evaluating the Cartogramma extension for Civil 3D 2013 and have some changes that would be helpful. I understand this is a rough draft, so maybe these modifications can be added before this is released as part of Civil 3D, not as an extension.

1. When you change settings in the Create Cartogramma dialog, those settings are not saved. I would think most users would probably set their Cut hatch style and Fill hatch style and would like those to remain as defaults. Same for Ground and Design surfaces.

2. There is no way to set hatch scale in the dialog, so you have to go to the drawing, pick one, Select Similar, and change the scale. This takes time, especially on a large Cartogramma area.

3. If I do change the scale, but then modify the FG surface in any way, the hatch scale gets set back to 0.5. That's very annoying.

4. I would prefer to set my own layers, but don't find any settings available. I might have missed them. I looked on Settings tab and under Surfaces and Grading on Settings tab.

5. The elevations that are placed on the corners and the volume in the middle of the Cartogramma cells are text objects. Yikes. These should definitely be labels, not text.

6. The volumes being reported are in Cu. Ft. Cartogramma does not recognize that I have set my Ambient Settings to show volumes in Cu. Yd. and neither does it respect my precision setting.

This is an okay first pass, but it can be made much more usable.

Has anyone else looked at this extension. Any opinions?

Tim Corey
MicroCAD Training and Consulting, Inc.
Redding, CA
Autodesk Gold Reseller

New knowledge is the most valuable commodity on earth. -- Kurt Vonnegut
1 REPLY 1
Message 2 of 2
el_nath
in reply to: tcorey