AutoCAD Civil 3D - Stormwater

AutoCAD Civil 3D - Stormwater

Reply
Active Contributor
stewartg
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎12-13-2006
Message 1 of 8 (333 Views)

UK IDF files

333 Views, 7 Replies
06-08-2009 06:09 AM
Is anyone using Hydraflow Storm Sewers in the UK?



I am having trouble finding any IDF files for UK storms. Does anyone know where I can find them?
*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,850
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 2 of 8 (333 Views)

Re: UK IDF files

06-08-2009 06:19 AM in reply to: stewartg
Hi,

Storm Sewers comes with a few sample IDF files but you will most likely have to create your own. Here in the Denver area, the IDF curves change depending on what part of town you are in. Take the rainfall data you have for the location you are at and create the IDF curves within Storm Sewers. If you do get lucky, you might find someone in your area that's already put some together.

Brian Hailey
http://www.cad-1.com
http://www.AtYourDeskTraining.com
Brian Hailey
CAD-1.com
My Blog
Distinguished Contributor
ksorsby
Posts: 229
Registered: ‎07-07-2006
Message 3 of 8 (235 Views)

Re: UK IDF files

07-07-2011 03:13 AM in reply to: BrianHailey

I'm resurrecting this thread, as we want to start using Hydraflow within Civil 3D and bin the hideous and expensive WinDes that everybody is forced to use.

 

So, are there any UK curves/templates/IDF files available anywhere?

 

Thanks,

 

Kevin

 

Employee
Matt.Anderson
Posts: 2,909
Registered: ‎05-13-2005
Message 4 of 8 (231 Views)

Re: UK IDF files

07-07-2011 06:10 AM in reply to: ksorsby

Kevin -

 

The Autodesk Storm and Sanitary Analysis has some UK functionlity built in.  IDF Curves for Hydraflow would need to be built with the local records.

Matthew Anderson, PE
Product Manager
Distinguished Contributor
ksorsby
Posts: 229
Registered: ‎07-07-2006
Message 5 of 8 (225 Views)

Re: UK IDF files

07-07-2011 09:24 AM in reply to: Matt.Anderson

Thanks Matthew,

 

In that case does anybody know of a way to export the localised rainfall data from Windes? It won't create .idf files AFAIK.

 

I'm assuming somebody here will be UK based and therefore will more-or-less be tied to using WinDes themselves...

 

Cheers,

 

Kevin

 

Active Member
arfrwi2
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎07-31-2012
Message 6 of 8 (142 Views)

Re: UK IDF files

01-30-2013 07:32 AM in reply to: stewartg

Kevin,

 

Did you ever get anywhere with the UK IDF data?

Distinguished Contributor
ksorsby
Posts: 229
Registered: ‎07-07-2006
Message 7 of 8 (136 Views)

Re: UK IDF files

01-30-2013 07:48 AM in reply to: arfrwi2

In short, no. That said, we have a new hydrologist so he might have some new ideas. I'll ambush him later and post.

Kevin

Active Member
arfrwi2
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎07-31-2012
Message 8 of 8 (133 Views)

Re: UK IDF files

01-30-2013 08:23 AM in reply to: stewartg

Kevin,

 

Thanks for that. I assume you are UK based. I have used Windes for about 25 years and although its a good package I'm now looking at alternatives especially as you suggested the costs are high and BIM is becoming more relevant.

 

I'm currently trying to run both systems but am having trouble using SSA to do storage assessments as it doesn't run on UK Mod Rat. I'm not that familiar with the other rain fall generators or inputting hydrographs or creating rain fall files, hence to post!!

 

Would be nice to get the views of other UK users like yourself who may be looking to use SSA for UK projects.

 

Steve

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!