AutoCAD Civil 3D - Stormwater

AutoCAD Civil 3D - Stormwater

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
kevinjackman
Posts: 144
Registered: ‎01-26-2010
Message 1 of 4 (401 Views)
Accepted Solution

SSA - Weir and Orifice modelling

401 Views, 3 Replies
09-27-2011 01:22 PM

I have a storm pond with an orifice and a weir in SSA.

 

The weir and orifice drain into a single channel (connect to a common junction).

 

In plan view, the weir and orifice links occupy the same place.

 

The Profile Plot will only show the orifice and not the weir, I think becuse I cannot select the weir.

 

In SSA, is this the way I should model the orifice and weir?  Or should each go to a seperate node?

 

C3D 2011.

 

Thanks.

When I drew it, I clicked a point to the side, then clicked on the node.

 

You can add a vertex to one of the lines by clicking on the button just to the right of the 'arrow' pick, which is 'edit vertexes', click on the orifice line, and right click to add a vertex. Then, use the edit vertex arrow to grab the new vertex and put a bend in the line.

Valued Mentor
ccoles
Posts: 329
Registered: ‎06-26-2007
Message 2 of 4 (399 Views)

Re: SSA - Weir and Orifice modelling

09-27-2011 01:45 PM in reply to: kevinjackman

You should be able to drag the links apart and still connect to the downstream node.

 

Capture.JPG

 

 

Windows 7 64-bit
Dell Precision T5610, Dual-Xeon 2.6Ghz, 16 Gig RAM
Civil 3D 2013
Distinguished Contributor
kevinjackman
Posts: 144
Registered: ‎01-26-2010
Message 3 of 4 (395 Views)

Re: SSA - Weir and Orifice modelling

09-27-2011 01:52 PM in reply to: ccoles

Hey - how did you do that?

 

I can't get the link to bend like that!

 

All I can do is go from Pond to Node direct....

 

Any trick to this?

Valued Mentor
ccoles
Posts: 329
Registered: ‎06-26-2007
Message 4 of 4 (393 Views)

Re: SSA - Weir and Orifice modelling

09-27-2011 02:04 PM in reply to: kevinjackman

When I drew it, I clicked a point to the side, then clicked on the node.

 

You can add a vertex to one of the lines by clicking on the button just to the right of the 'arrow' pick, which is 'edit vertexes', click on the orifice line, and right click to add a vertex. Then, use the edit vertex arrow to grab the new vertex and put a bend in the line.

Windows 7 64-bit
Dell Precision T5610, Dual-Xeon 2.6Ghz, 16 Gig RAM
Civil 3D 2013
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.