AutoCAD Civil 3D - Stormwater

AutoCAD Civil 3D - Stormwater

Reply
Valued Contributor
mstg007
Posts: 77
Registered: ‎04-18-2005
Message 1 of 6 (334 Views)

Model - Pond with Underground Detention

334 Views, 5 Replies
07-17-2008 06:07 AM
What would be the best way to model a site with an underground detention system and a detention pond?

I have my site which the inlets and piping will collect all the runoff and place it into the underground detention system. Then it will utilize the detention pond. However, the underground detention system is a few tenths above the normal pool of the underground detention system.

Thanks for your help!
*wfb
Message 2 of 6 (334 Views)

Re: Model - Pond with Underground Detention

07-17-2008 09:47 AM in reply to: mstg007
I believe you need to read what you just wrote. Perhaps a more detail
explanation would also help.

Bill

wrote in message news:5983852@discussion.autodesk.com...
What would be the best way to model a site with an underground detention
system and a detention pond?

I have my site which the inlets and piping will collect all the runoff and
place it into the underground detention system. Then it will utilize the
detention pond. However, the underground detention system is a few tenths
above the normal pool of the underground detention system.

Thanks for your help!
Employee
Matt.Anderson
Posts: 2,909
Registered: ‎05-13-2005
Message 3 of 6 (334 Views)

Re: Model - Pond with Underground Detention

07-17-2008 11:32 AM in reply to: mstg007
Detention systems are just fancy storage areas. The only realistic modeling is a pond routing of a hydrograph into and out of your ponds.

In the Hydraflow Hydrograph product - you can model your site, route into the underground pond, and then into the other detention pond. You do indicate that the underground detention pond is about the same elevation of the storage provided by the excavated pond. I would assume that they would function together and this would be considered a interconnected pond.

Hydrographs only allows a one-way flow - so be sure you are not discharging anything other that your underground detention system into the pond.

Matthew Anderson, PE
Joseph A Schudt & Associates
Matthew Anderson, PE
Product Manager
*Laurie Comerford
Message 4 of 6 (334 Views)

Re: Model - Pond with Underground Detention

07-17-2008 02:32 PM in reply to: mstg007
Hi mstg007,

You are going to have to create a depth/storage relationship for your
pond. Although the roofing of the pond may affect the values in that
relationship, as far as the computations in the software are concerned
it will not matter whether there is a roof or not.

Don't worry about the roof at all.

Regards

Laurie

mstg007 wrote:
> What would be the best way to model a site with an underground detention system and a detention pond?
>
> I have my site which the inlets and piping will collect all the runoff and place it into the underground detention system. Then it will utilize the detention pond. However, the underground detention system is a few tenths above the normal pool of the underground detention system.
>
> Thanks for your help!
*John Mayo
Message 5 of 6 (334 Views)

Re: Model - Pond with Underground Detention

10-10-2008 06:26 AM in reply to: mstg007
More info on relative locations & how they feed each other would help but
I'm thinking you might need a combined stage storage relation for both
basins if filling the pond will backfill the underground system by gravity.

If gravity does not back fill the underground system why can't you use 2
ponds in Hydraflow. One for the underground system and one for the pond.
Outflow of basin1 is inflow to basin2.


--
John Mayo, PE
Project Engineer
Conklin Associates
Ramsey, NJ

Civil 3D 2008 SP2, LDT 2008 SP2, Raster Design 2008
P-IV at 3.5 GHz
2 GB Ram
Nvidea Quadro FX w/ 128 MB Ram
wrote in message news:5983852@discussion.autodesk.com...
What would be the best way to model a site with an underground detention
system and a detention pond?

I have my site which the inlets and piping will collect all the runoff and
place it into the underground detention system. Then it will utilize the
detention pond. However, the underground detention system is a few tenths
above the normal pool of the underground detention system.

Thanks for your help!
Member
Jason_Slocum
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎07-28-2008
Message 6 of 6 (334 Views)

Re: Model - Pond with Underground Detention

10-20-2008 08:29 AM in reply to: mstg007
mstg2007, if you can post a print of your project in plan view it may be easier for us to understand exactly how you are modeling your system so that we can provide you with more appropriate feedback. If you are modeling your project as a single system and trying to utilize your pipe conveyance system as part of your storage (for example using oversized pipes) then you would need to reflect this in your stage storage table for the pond. However, if this is truly a separate underground detention system then you could create an independent stage storage table in Hydraflow Hydrographs using the 'Chambers' option.

Jason Slocum, Synergis Technologies
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.