AutoCAD Civil 3D - Stormwater

AutoCAD Civil 3D - Stormwater

Reply
Member
steve50
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-01-2011
Message 1 of 6 (440 Views)

Micro Drainage export problem

440 Views, 5 Replies
12-01-2011 04:14 AM

Hi,

 

I am currently having problems exporting my drainage network from Civil 3D in to micro drainage. I am able to export pipe branches which have mutliple pipes, but when I try to export a pipe branch made up of a single pipe, I am getting a message stateing that the pipe cannot be exported.

 

I have attached a plan view of my network. In this example, branches 2 and 5 are branches which comprise of a single pipe (numbered 2.000 and 5.000). When I use the WinDES Export tool and select this network, it is showing that these two pipes cannot be exported (see attached for screenshot).

 

I have been experiencing this problem with different networks I have tried to export.

 

Any suggestions or ideas would be greatly appreciated.

 

Thanks

Valued Mentor
ccoles
Posts: 324
Registered: ‎06-26-2007
Message 2 of 6 (426 Views)

Re: Micro Drainage export problem

12-01-2011 05:28 AM in reply to: steve50

Are these in a single pipe network, or is each branch in a separate pipe network? This is important, because, in Civil 3D, if pipes 2 and 5 are in a different network than the structures they tie to, then they cannot be connected to those structures, and are seen as detached pipes, even tho the display makes them appear connected.

Windows 7 64-bit
HP Z600 8 Gig RAM
Civil 3D 2013
Member
steve50
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-01-2011
Message 3 of 6 (421 Views)

Re: Micro Drainage export problem

12-01-2011 05:38 AM in reply to: ccoles

Hi Ccoles,

 

They are all in the same network. Im currently getting around it by adding an extra pipe and manhole to the single pipe branches, exporting it, then removing the additional pipe within microdrainage. This is working fine, but it would be easier if I did not have to do this as removing pipes within micro drainage can lead to errors in the modelling.

 

Thanks

Valued Mentor
ccoles
Posts: 324
Registered: ‎06-26-2007
Message 4 of 6 (406 Views)

Re: Micro Drainage export problem

12-01-2011 06:58 AM in reply to: steve50

Another question, is this a thrid party export tool? I canot find the WinDES export tool as part of my standard package in Civil 3D 2011.

Windows 7 64-bit
HP Z600 8 Gig RAM
Civil 3D 2013
New Member
SusanWoodhouse
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-01-2011
Message 5 of 6 (401 Views)

Re: Micro Drainage export problem

12-01-2011 07:14 AM in reply to: steve50

Hi,

Here at Micro Drainage we are happy to have software link to WinDes and we publish our WinDes file structure.  Within the WinDes manual this can be found in Appendix i) Open System Links.  Alternatively from the WinDes Help navigate to File Structure from the contents menu. We also provide a sample code to write to this format within the WinDes Help. I hope these details and examples will help to resolve the export issues.

Member
steve50
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-01-2011
Message 6 of 6 (400 Views)

Re: Micro Drainage export problem

12-01-2011 07:14 AM in reply to: ccoles

It is part of the UK and Ireland country kit produced by Autodesk.

Thanks

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.