Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to calculate runoff water that splits to two new subbasins

7 REPLIES 7
Message 1 of 8
dwillis
602 Views, 7 Replies

How to calculate runoff water that splits to two new subbasins

I’m a new user to SSA and am a self-teaching my way through the software.  I’m using 2011, due to printing issues in 2013.  My question relates to determining how runoff gets diverted, or spreads out, after leaving a well defined channel.

I have a street intersection scenario.  It’s a “Y” situation in which the main trunk of the “Y” is curbed and contains all the water for the three storms I’m studying.  Runoff flows towards the two streets that branch off.  I need to know what percentage of runoff water splits during the 2-, 10-, and 100-year storms from the main (curbed) roadway to the other two streets - one curbed, one uncurbed. 

I assume that velocity, runoff volume, storm intensity, street cross sections, slopes, and other variables play a big role in how the water diverts, but I’m not sure how to set up this scenario in SSA.  Do I somehow use a weir?  Do I use an open channel, or user-defined channel?  I have a subbasin area defined with my concentration point at the end of my main curbed street before the water splits off.  I’m not sure where to go from here when it comes to inserting links, weirs, channels, etc.

Any suggestions as to how I can set this up?  I’m not even sure it’s possible to have the software provide this type of calculation.

Thanks for any and all help!

Regards!

7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
fcernst
in reply to: dwillis

You said nothing about pipes playing a role....so I would use HEC-RAS.

Fred Ernst, PE
C3D 2024
Ernst Engineering
www.ernstengineering.com
Message 3 of 8
dwillis
in reply to: fcernst