AutoCAD Civil 3D - Stormwater

AutoCAD Civil 3D - Stormwater

Reply
Member
c3dfan
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-13-2007
Message 1 of 10 (980 Views)

Edit in Storm and Sanitary Analysis-Drawing Underlay is missing

980 Views, 9 Replies
10-12-2011 07:27 AM

In Civil3d 2012 when the Edit in Storm and Sanitary Analysis command is used to send a Civil3d pipe network and Catchment areas to SSA the program appears to open as expected with the "Create New Project" dialogue box displayed.

 

When the Create New Project prompt is accepted nothing is displayed in the SSA plan view.

But.... If I go to the SSA File pulldown menu the .spf project file is available and when it is selected a dialogue box is displayed indicating that the Background file(the dwg) file cannot be found and do we want to search for it "Yes/No".

 

If No is selected the pipe network is displayed as expected.

If Yes is selected and the dwg file located and selected then the pipe network is displayed as expected but the background file looks like proxy objects.

 

Is this some kind of Path issue?

Any thoughts are greatly appreciated.

 

 

Civil3d2012

Win7 64bit

NVidia Quadro2000M

Dave Hill
Active Contributor
WalterL
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎06-25-2009
Message 2 of 10 (973 Views)

Re: Edit in Storm and Sanitary Analysis-Drawing Underlay is missing

10-12-2011 09:43 AM in reply to: c3dfan

Make sure you go to the Autodesk website and load the "Hotfix"

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/index?siteID=123112&id=2334435&linkID=9240698

Employee
Matt.Anderson
Posts: 2,909
Registered: ‎05-13-2005
Message 3 of 10 (967 Views)

Re: Edit in Storm and Sanitary Analysis-Drawing Underlay is missing

10-12-2011 10:16 AM in reply to: c3dfan

How did you install SSA 2012?

 

If Civil 3D drawing objects are not being shown, you are missing the Civil 3D object enabler which will be installed if you install from the Civil 3D installation. 

Matthew Anderson, PE
Product Manager
Member
c3dfan
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-13-2007
Message 4 of 10 (957 Views)

Re: Edit in Storm and Sanitary Analysis-Drawing Underlay is missing

10-12-2011 07:09 PM in reply to: c3dfan

Thanks guys,

 

The hotfix is installed as is the Object Enabler.

 

Another symptom is after saying OK to the "Create New Project" dialoge box there is no option to open the log file which should be part of the process.

It appears that a new project isn't really being created.

 

A Repair doesn't resolve it so perhaps a full uninstall and reinstall is in order.

 

 

 

Dave Hill
Active Contributor
MMorrison
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎01-23-2007
Message 5 of 10 (945 Views)

Re: Edit in Storm and Sanitary Analysis-Drawing Underlay is missing

10-14-2011 06:50 AM in reply to: c3dfan

Same issue here.  Uninstall and reinstall didn't help.

Active Contributor
MMorrison
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎01-23-2007
Message 6 of 10 (942 Views)

Re: Edit in Storm and Sanitary Analysis-Drawing Underlay is missing

10-14-2011 07:23 AM in reply to: MMorrison

I might also add, that I have all hotfixes and both the 32 and 64 bit object enablers installed.

Active Contributor
MMorrison
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎01-23-2007
Message 7 of 10 (892 Views)

Re: Edit in Storm and Sanitary Analysis-Drawing Underlay is missing

10-25-2011 07:46 AM in reply to: c3dfan

It appears that this is an install issue with the Infrastructure Design Suite.  On two different machines (one laptop, one desktop) the program did not bring up the underlay, show the log file etc.  Clean install etc of the suite did nothing to fix the issue.  Do a clean install of plain Civil 3D and it works.  I'm going to file  a support ticket in the next little bit, but this needs fixed.

 

Machine Specs

 

Dell Precision M6400

Windoows 7 64 bit

8GB RAM

NVidia 3700M

Every AEC app known to man loaded.

blah, blah, blah

 

Martin

Member
c3dfan
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-13-2007
Message 8 of 10 (879 Views)

Re: Edit in Storm and Sanitary Analysis-Drawing Underlay is missing

10-25-2011 07:31 PM in reply to: c3dfan

Many thanks for following up on this issue, installing without the Infrastructure Suite cured it.

 

I'm opening a ticket as well, hopefully it will be adressed.

 

Thanks again.

 

 

 

Dave Hill
Valued Contributor
michaela.g
Posts: 92
Registered: ‎10-11-2007
Message 9 of 10 (670 Views)

Re: Edit in Storm and Sanitary Analysis-Drawing Underlay is missing

08-22-2012 11:52 AM in reply to: c3dfan

Does anyone have a resolution for this issue? I'm trying to export my drawing and network to SSA and nothing is showing up, despite having the hotfix and OE installed.

 

Michaela

Active Contributor
WalterL
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎06-25-2009
Message 10 of 10 (660 Views)

Re: Edit in Storm and Sanitary Analysis-Drawing Underlay is missing

08-22-2012 06:12 PM in reply to: c3dfan
This will also happen to 2012 C3D and SSA if you have ever installed the 2013 versions, I think some dll's get replaced.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.