AutoCAD Civil 3D - Stormwater

AutoCAD Civil 3D - Stormwater

Reply
Active Contributor
tjsuchoski
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎12-18-2008
Message 1 of 5 (473 Views)

2010 Stand-alone Hydraflow programs

473 Views, 4 Replies
08-06-2009 06:57 PM
In 2009 and earlier, the Hydraflow programs worked as stand-alone programs. Is that not the case with 2010? If I try to select the programs outside of Civil 3D, I get a messge that says they need to be run from inside Civil 3D.

Civil 3d 2011 or 2012
Quad Core Intel
Windows 7 x64
8GB RAM
*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,815
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 2 of 5 (473 Views)

Re: 2010 Stand-alone Hydraflow programs

08-09-2009 10:35 AM in reply to: tjsuchoski
As far as I know, you are correct. This was done to control licenses being used. Previously, you could install Civil 3D on everyones computer and then launch the hydraflow stuff without taking a license of C3D. Now, you have to take a license and then launch hydraflow.

Brian Hailey
http://www.cad-1.com
http://www.AtYourDeskTraining.com
Brian Hailey
CAD-1.com
My Blog
*wfb
Message 3 of 5 (473 Views)

Re: 2010 Stand-alone Hydraflow programs

08-09-2009 01:10 PM in reply to: tjsuchoski
My opinion is it may be causing problems with available resources. You can
unload Civil 3D after starting Hydraflow, but I cannot remember if I checked
it that way. It sure seems awkward to do it in that manner.

Bill
Distinguished Contributor
annw2
Posts: 1,274
Registered: ‎03-07-2006
Message 4 of 5 (473 Views)

Re: 2010 Stand-alone Hydraflow programs

09-03-2009 05:45 PM in reply to: tjsuchoski
For us, it means we lost two licenses as we had both programs before Autodesk bought.
Ann Wingert, P.E.
Contributor
aneal
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎03-01-2012
Message 5 of 5 (282 Views)

Re: 2010 Stand-alone Hydraflow programs

07-09-2012 12:05 PM in reply to: tjsuchoski

Our problem with this is that we have several machines that the folks doing hydrology use that don't have the resources to open Civil3D - not licenses, but hardware specs, it kills their machines.  Does anyone know of any workarounds, or ways to open an older version and use the newer hydraflow programs?

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.