AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*skier06
Message 1 of 9 (2,110 Views)

zoom to point?

2110 Views, 8 Replies
01-31-2007 04:44 AM
In LDT there was a command "zoom To point" that allowed me to type in the
point to zoom to that point. The only way I am able to do this now is scroll
through the point groups or point to zoom to a point.

Is there a zoom to point command inside of C3D that is more efficient than
scrolling through a point list? If so that would be great to know.
*Peter Funk - Autodesk, Inc
Message 2 of 9 (2,107 Views)

Re: zoom to point?

01-31-2007 05:53 AM in reply to: *skier06
There isn't a command in Civil 3D that does this, but here is a quick way to
do it...

1. ZC - for zoom center
2. 'PN - for the point number transparent command
3. Enter the point number and hit "escape" to end the point number command
4. Enter a zoom factor. The zoom to a point command uses 30 as the zoom
factor

Not perfect, but it is something that you can use right now.

Cheers,

Peter Funk
Autodesk, Inc.
*skier06
Message 3 of 9 (2,107 Views)

Re: zoom to point?

01-31-2007 06:50 AM in reply to: *skier06
thanks Peter

"Peter Funk - Autodesk"; "Inc" wrote in message
news:5469957@discussion.autodesk.com...
There isn't a command in Civil 3D that does this, but here is a quick way to
do it...

1. ZC - for zoom center
2. 'PN - for the point number transparent command
3. Enter the point number and hit "escape" to end the point number command
4. Enter a zoom factor. The zoom to a point command uses 30 as the zoom
factor

Not perfect, but it is something that you can use right now.

Cheers,

Peter Funk
Autodesk, Inc.
Employee
brian.kling
Posts: 181
Registered: ‎12-17-2002
Message 4 of 9 (2,107 Views)

Re: zoom to point?

01-31-2007 11:19 AM in reply to: *skier06
Peter, this is even slicker than imagined. You can actually enter any desired scale factor, so can zoom in very close to a point. If you use the other transparent commands, you can zoom to stations on an alignment or profile too (helps if they are long!).


Brian Kling
Sr International Customer Experience Lead
Autodesk, Inc.
Active Member
yibbida
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-25-2006
Message 5 of 9 (2,107 Views)

Re: zoom to point?

01-31-2007 08:30 PM in reply to: *skier06
That's what we do. There really needs to be a function within Civil3D to do this, as Surveyors need this functionality.

I guess if you knew how you could create a lisp or VB program to do this for you. Anyone want to donate their time and program to the cause ?
New Member
MRACH
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-06-2008
Message 6 of 9 (2,107 Views)

Re: zoom to point?

10-02-2008 11:26 AM in reply to: *skier06
One work around, using the above sequence, would be to create a menu item (I called mine ZOOM2NODE)
with the following : 'zc;'pn;\\30;
This allows you to pick it and enter the node number, followed by the ESC key, and you are zoomed to 30 (edit this as you wish).
I would love to see something like this "built in".
Maybe this will help.

MSR.
Valued Contributor
MichaelMerlino7407
Posts: 89
Registered: ‎05-04-2010
Message 7 of 9 (1,699 Views)

Re: zoom to point?

04-14-2012 05:03 PM in reply to: *Peter Funk - Autodesk, Inc

Thank you for your help Peter Funk.

A while back, I was able to make a zoom to point button using the information you posted.

 

Michael Merlino
Civil Engineering Technician / "CAD Manager"
SAN JOSE, CA, USA
*Expert Elite*
Sinc
Posts: 6,207
Registered: ‎11-18-2006
Message 8 of 9 (1,694 Views)

Re: zoom to point?

04-14-2012 05:22 PM in reply to: *skier06

Something I've mentioned as a "Wish List" item is that any "Zoom To" feature will also highlight the specific item that is being "zoomed to"...  For example, when I get errors in the Event Viewer, and click there on "Zoom to....", I'd like to see some highlighting on those features.  As it is right now, clicking on "Zoom To..." will usually do that, but there are SO MANY items in the same spot that it's very difficult to determine which one is causing the error.

 

It could also be very useful if there was some way to control the zoom scale, as is possible (and has been way back to C3D 2008) with the Sincpac-C3D ZOOMPT command, which uses your current Annotative Scale + your user-selected factor to control how much zoom happens.  This command doesn't highlight the "zoomed to" entity, though, which would be the REALLY useful feature...

Sinc
*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,868
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 9 of 9 (1,676 Views)

Re: zoom to point?

04-15-2012 09:17 AM in reply to: MichaelMerlino7407

In the current version (and I think it goes as far back as 2011) there is a "Zoom to Point" transparent command ('ZTP).

Brian Hailey
CAD-1.com
My Blog
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.