AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
jason17439
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎07-13-2007
Message 1 of 11 (2,677 Views)

Zoom extents zooms way too far

2677 Views, 10 Replies
08-30-2007 06:54 AM
Title pretty much sums it up. When I do zoom extents it zooms out so far and it takes me forever to zoom in and find my drawing again. This happens even if I select all and delete everything and then draw a circle at the origin so I know I don't have any fragments somewhere out in the drawing. Help please!
Member
braberry
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-17-2007
Message 2 of 11 (2,677 Views)

Re: Zoom extents zooms way too far

08-30-2007 07:04 AM in reply to: jason17439
hi
Any chance that limits might be affecting the file? I'm a relatively new user so take my advice lightly. But I recall from way back in the day that limits settings could give you that behavior.

HTH
Contributor
jason17439
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎07-13-2007
Message 3 of 11 (2,677 Views)

Re: Zoom extents zooms way too far

08-30-2007 07:15 AM in reply to: jason17439
I had considered that also but changing the limits doesn't seem to help the problem. Thanks for trying.
*Brad
Message 4 of 11 (2,677 Views)

Re: Zoom extents zooms way too far

08-30-2007 07:47 AM in reply to: jason17439
Something is out there. Post the file after you have erased everything and
maybe we can find the problem.

Brad

wrote in message news:5705770@discussion.autodesk.com...
Title pretty much sums it up. When I do zoom extents it zooms out so far
and it takes me forever to zoom in and find my drawing again. This happens
even if I select all and delete everything and then draw a circle at the
origin so I know I don't have any fragments somewhere out in the drawing.
Help please!
*Expert Elite*
Civil3DReminders.com
Posts: 2,484
Registered: ‎10-13-2005
Message 5 of 11 (2,677 Views)

Re: Zoom extents zooms way too far

08-30-2007 11:02 AM in reply to: jason17439
Also try selecting all of the objects in the drawing and then using the wheel to zoom out a little (in case you have a toolbar covering part of the screen) and you should be able to find the trouble object, well sometimes not. The grips make small objects easier to see.

Christopher
http://civil-3d.blogspot.com/
Civil Reminders
http://blog.civil3dreminders.com/
http://www.CivilReminders.com/
Contributor
jason17439
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎07-13-2007
Message 6 of 11 (2,677 Views)

Re: Zoom extents zooms way too far

08-30-2007 11:19 AM in reply to: jason17439
Here is the offending file hopefully somebody can beat it into submission. There is nothing in it except one circle at 0,0 with a radius of 100.
*Brad
Message 7 of 11 (2,677 Views)

Re: Zoom extents zooms way too far

08-30-2007 11:57 AM in reply to: jason17439
After auditing, deleting the layouts and your 100' circle, purging and
selecting all, I get 14 objects in the file. 13 are in model space. There
are eight blocks that cannot be purged. I am guessing your problem has
something to with these blocks. Have tried several things, but cannot find
them even though I can select the 13 objects. I tried to erase the 13
objects, but they are still there after the erase. I tried listing them but
nothing came up other than 13 objects. The audit did find errors. I would
try wblocking to a new file and starting over or going to a backup from
before the problem started.

Brad
C3D 2008
XP Pro

wrote in message news:5706326@discussion.autodesk.com...
Here is the offending file hopefully somebody can beat it into submission.
There is nothing in it except one circle at 0,0 with a radius of 100.
*Jeff Mishler
Message 8 of 11 (2,677 Views)

Re: Zoom extents zooms way too far

08-30-2007 12:55 PM in reply to: jason17439
13 of the objects are the PointGroups and don't have any effect on the
Extents. There are 3 objects of the type "AcMapBulkFeature". Deleting these
via ActiveX lisp fixed the problem.

Here's the quick lisp I used. Note that I have no idea WHAT the BulkFeature
objects are or what they may be doing. It doesn't appear to make this
drawing unstable, but make sure you have a good back-up of the drawing
before using it.

(defun c:deletebulk ()
(vl-load-com)
(vlax-for ent
(vla-get-modelspace
(vla-get-activedocument
(vlax-get-acad-object)))
(if (eq (vla-get-objectname ent) "AcMapBulkFeature")
(vla-delete ent)
)
)
(princ)
)

HTH,
Jeff

wrote in message news:5706326@discussion.autodesk.com...
Here is the offending file hopefully somebody can beat it into submission.
There is nothing in it except one circle at 0,0 with a radius of 100.
Distinguished Contributor
AussieHans
Posts: 766
Registered: ‎06-26-2006
Message 9 of 11 (2,677 Views)

Re: Zoom extents zooms way too far

08-30-2007 10:20 PM in reply to: jason17439
When I get tired of looking for the problem I set the zoom limits to my drawing and then use "zoom limits" (zl) instead of "zoom extents".
New Member
p8chd
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-11-2009
Message 10 of 11 (2,677 Views)

Re: Zoom extents zooms way too far

03-11-2009 09:01 AM in reply to: jason17439
Draw a line from a snap point on one of the objects in the drawing to 0,0,0. Select all objects (including the new line) and hit ctrl + C. Open a new file and hit ctrl "v" and paste anywhere in the drawing. Select all and move the pasted objects by selecting the 0,0,0 point of the line as the Base point, with the second point 0,0,0. Now delete the line and try zoom extents.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.