AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
greenju17
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎02-25-2013
Message 1 of 11 (199 Views)
Accepted Solution

XREF

199 Views, 10 Replies
03-05-2014 11:23 AM

Why when I do Auto Linework and I go to Xref my base drawing to create other plan sheets, all my linework comes in as proposed?  Anyone else having this problem?

Well I figured it out.......I feel dumb

 

The problem was that the default layer was a Proposed layer, so all the lines from the xref are going to be proposed.  I changed the layer to a existing layer and all the lines show-up/plott right.

 

It was a easy fix, can't believe I didnt see that right away, o well

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,125
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 2 of 11 (196 Views)

Re: XREF

03-05-2014 11:36 AM in reply to: greenju17

Sounds like a VISRETSAIN setting

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Active Contributor
greenju17
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎02-25-2013
Message 3 of 11 (173 Views)

Re: XREF

03-05-2014 12:54 PM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

I tried changing that to 0, re xrefing the file, and still nothing?

 

What I am used to doing is xrefing the file needed, then re-import linework.  But by doing this i have the xref lines and the linework I just re-imported.

 

I never used to have this problem, it just started a few months ago??????????????

*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,716
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 4 of 11 (167 Views)

Re: XREF

03-05-2014 01:05 PM in reply to: greenju17

You're not giving us nearly enough details to track down you exact problem. Maybe you can give us a step-by-step walk-through of the commands you're using and what you expect from each?

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,125
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 5 of 11 (157 Views)

Re: XREF

03-05-2014 01:37 PM in reply to: greenju17

I'm not sure what you have there?

 

is it paper space? you may be displaying plot styles under page setup manager

 

displayplotstyle.png

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Active Contributor
greenju17
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎02-25-2013
Message 6 of 11 (132 Views)

Re: XREF

03-06-2014 05:12 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Ok here is what Im doing

 

I go out surveying, bring in the points with auto linework (createing survey figures), and create my base.  In my base I do my Proposed linework, Alignment, Surface, Profiles, and Cross Sections.

Now its time for me to create P&P sheets.  So what I do is go to General--Plan production tools--create view frames and create sheets.  What I do is I add all sheets to a new drawing. 

 

Then I open the new drawing that was created with my P&P sheets.  I edit them a bit, add my labels, and when I go to print them, every line plots propsoed (even all of my exisitng linework).  The same this happens when I xref my base drawing to create a Plan View sheet, project overview sheet, etc.  Also what happens is that most of my linework goes on the P_Misc layer???  But even the linework that stay on the correct layer plots proposed??

 

So, what I did on my last project was to go into the new drawing the I created or xrefed (P&P, Plan View, etc), went to the survey tab in my toolspace, opened my Survey Database for my job, and clicked on Process Linework.  This brought in all my existing linework, but by doing this I now have my xref linework and my new stuff I just processed.

 

So I guess what is happing is that when I create my Base drawing with auto linework, everything work great.  But when I try to create other sheets with my base, nothing seems to work out?

 

 

 

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,125
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 7 of 11 (125 Views)

Re: XREF

03-06-2014 05:54 AM in reply to: greenju17
I'm flumoxed. Admittedly, I am not familiar with the process of creating auto line work. When the autolines are made are they athe expected layer and creen color?

Am I understanding your process: is the autoline work in you base drawing with everything else and in the view frame file? in other words are you creating the PP in the base xref? I'm wondering if you have two sets of data ending up in you sheets. What happens if you make the sheets in the same drawing?
Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Active Contributor
greenju17
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎02-25-2013
Message 8 of 11 (119 Views)

Re: XREF

03-06-2014 06:12 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Everything in the base works fine.  I can create sheets in the layout tabs and everything plots correct.  The only problem i have is when I xref it or when I use the program to create any sheets.

 

 

Active Contributor
greenju17
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎02-25-2013
Message 9 of 11 (111 Views)

Re: XREF

03-06-2014 07:06 AM in reply to: greenju17

Well I figured it out.......I feel dumb

 

The problem was that the default layer was a Proposed layer, so all the lines from the xref are going to be proposed.  I changed the layer to a existing layer and all the lines show-up/plott right.

 

It was a easy fix, can't believe I didnt see that right away, o well

*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,716
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 10 of 11 (97 Views)

Re: XREF

03-06-2014 09:13 AM in reply to: greenju17

Yes, you should be embarrassed. None of the rest of us has ever overlooked something obvious. ;-)

 

Thanks for following up with your solution. 

 

Best regards,

 

Tim

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!