AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,251
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 1 of 8 (531 Views)
Accepted Solution

XREF's with raster images

531 Views, 7 Replies
11-17-2011 03:47 PM

Has anyone heard complaints about how XREF's with raster images take forever to load and unload? Anytime you select the XREF in the Xref Manager the images process, whether they are turned on or off. When did this behavior start?

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,884
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 2 of 8 (522 Views)

Re: XREF's with raster images

11-17-2011 06:44 PM in reply to: Neilw

Well, 2004 is probably the first time I saw an aerial image in a drawing file and I've been waiting for images to "process" ever since. 

 

What is your rasterpecent and rasterthreshold set to?

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,251
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 3 of 8 (516 Views)

Re: XREF's with raster images

11-17-2011 07:44 PM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

I've never messed with those variables Joe. In the 2004 XREF dialogue there is no processing when selecting an XREF. I haven't used any versions since 2005 to any extent up until now so I don't know when the dialogue behavior changed. When did images start appearing in the xref dialogue? That is probably when this became a problem.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,884
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 4 of 8 (504 Views)

Re: XREF's with raster images

11-18-2011 05:27 AM in reply to: Neilw

http://www.appliedtg.com/techblog/index.php/2010/04/26/improving-plotter-performance/

 

not sure when, maybe 2010?

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Active Contributor
bzismann
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎02-26-2003
Message 5 of 8 (411 Views)

Re: XREF's with raster images

10-04-2012 03:00 PM in reply to: Neilw

I'm not sure if you ever solved this problem... I came across it in an effort to eliminate the image from processing when I roll over it in the xref manager.  The only solution I've had any success with is to turn off the Tooltips in Options>Display.  Since the reference preview doesn't come up, the image doesn't process for the the preview, unless you have the preview pane active.  I was hoping to find something specific to just eliminate the preview, but I haven't found it yet.

Ben Zismann
*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,251
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 6 of 8 (346 Views)

Re: XREF's with raster images

12-19-2012 03:45 PM in reply to: Neilw

This behavior is still driving me nuts. I have large aerial images in some of my files that take forever to load. Does anyone have a solution?

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,251
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 7 of 8 (299 Views)

Re: XREF's with raster images

01-10-2013 02:05 PM in reply to: Neilw

A big thanks to Autodesk support specialist Zac Travis for finding this blog post :http://www.cad-addict.com/2009/02/autocad-getting-back-old-xref-manager.html

 

It explains how to initiate the old XREF manager which did not include raster images. The command is CLASSICXREF. This solves the problem.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,557
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 8 of 8 (284 Views)

Re: XREF's with raster images

01-10-2013 05:34 PM in reply to: Neilw

Aha! Thanks, Neil.

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.