Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Working with imported shape files

4 REPLIES 4
SOLVED
Message 1 of 5
mrenn
2066 Views, 4 Replies

Working with imported shape files

Hi,

I'm new to working with GIS data imported into Civil 3d as shape files.  I'm working on setting up base drawings for a new project area and I have a lot of data displayed as polygons with attributes.  This is nice but I would like to be able to copy these to polylines on layers that I can have a little more freedom to work with.  For example the polygon boundaries are not exactly the boundaries that I need to show and editing the borders would be nice.  Is there a better alternative to tracing the polygon boundaries?  I have noticed when I extract feature geometry for linestrings I get a polyIine I can use but the polygons' extracted geometry is a Mpolygon with solid fill.

Does anyone know of a good overview for checking out and editing these features?  I'm interested in knowing what capabilities one has. 

Thanks

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
antoniovinci
in reply to: mrenn

When you _MAPIMPORT the shapefile, ensure you flagged the "Import polygons as closed polylines" check box, sir.

Message 3 of 5
mrenn
in reply to: antoniovinci

Thanks, I had used the data connect under the planning and analysis workspace to import the shape files.  I see that the MAPCONNECT command brings in a simpler set of polylines to work with.

Is there a method of selecting parts of a shape file to display without having to delete the data? I.E. I want to disply 65 of 100 property boundaries in a shape file.  I tried deleting the polygons in modelspace but that seems to delete the data and now they aren't coming in when I try to import them again in another drawing. 

Message 4 of 5
antoniovinci