AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
arick4022
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-25-2011
Message 1 of 10 (548 Views)

Working back and forth from plan view and profile view

548 Views, 9 Replies
01-18-2013 10:36 AM

I was given a horizontal centerline of a 5 mile bike path. We have to stake all the even stationing every 50 feet and all the VPC's and VPT's with vertical elevation. I have created the horizontal profile and also the vertical profile including all the vertical curve information. Is there an easy way to incorporate the elevation information back into the plan view so I can create points that carry x,y & z points that I can transfer out of autocad as a .txt file so we can upload it on our gps equipment?

 

Thank you for all of your help!!

 

Aaron M. Rick, PEI, LSIT

 

EDR ENGINEERING

4900 Waters Edge Drive, Suite 170

Raleigh, North Carolina 27606

 

 

*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,520
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 2 of 10 (536 Views)

Re: Working back and forth from plan view and profile view

01-18-2013 11:31 AM in reply to: arick4022

Would a corridor help?

 

I've seen others talking about exporting a profile as a feature line in plan view, but I can't find how to do it.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,317
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 3 of 10 (513 Views)

Re: Working back and forth from plan view and profile view

01-18-2013 12:29 PM in reply to: arick4022

Create Points->Alignments, Measure and then Profile Geometry Points That will likely give you more than you want, but the points won't be in order since it's a 2 step process.

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,117
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 4 of 10 (509 Views)

Re: Working back and forth from plan view and profile view

01-18-2013 12:35 PM in reply to: arick4022

Forget about exporting points, that's the old school way of doing layout.  Your GPS equipment can probably accept the alignment and profile directly, so that you can layout the path at any station and offset you want.

 

What type of equipment are you using in the field?

Member
arick4022
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-25-2011
Message 5 of 10 (496 Views)

Re: Working back and forth from plan view and profile view

01-18-2013 12:59 PM in reply to: sboon

We have a Leica TCRP 1203 Robotic Total Station. How do you transfer the alignment and profile information from AutoCAD Civil 3d 2010 to the Leica?

*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,117
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 6 of 10 (456 Views)

Re: Working back and forth from plan view and profile view

01-19-2013 10:22 AM in reply to: arick4022

Try this link.

 

Most survey equipment can also use xml files exported from Civil3d.

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,885
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 7 of 10 (445 Views)

Re: Working back and forth from plan view and profile view

01-19-2013 07:01 PM in reply to: troma

Hi troma,

 

There are a few options:

 

you can create label style that show the vertical profile with the station labels

you can create points by station offset (i think that can also be done by reading a txt file - I remember doing it in LDT so c3d must have it)

you can create a fl from the alignment

Allen and John have talked about turning on the 3d chain in the style , exploding the profile and being left with the profile in plan

Almost forgot there is the tool box reports too

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,877
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 8 of 10 (418 Views)

Re: Working back and forth from plan view and profile view

01-20-2013 06:22 AM in reply to: arick4022
if you explodethe chain remember to do it to a COPY
Because it explodes the whole profile.
*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,520
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 9 of 10 (381 Views)

Re: Working back and forth from plan view and profile view

01-21-2013 10:07 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza


Joe-Bouza wrote:

Hi troma,

 

....

 

you can create a fl from the alignment

Where is this command?  I can't find it.  What does it do if you have multiple profiles on that alignment?

 

Allen and John have talked about turning on the 3d chain in the style , exploding the profile and being left with the profile in plan

I don't know what that means.  What & where is 3D chain?  Not supprisingly it doesn't show up in the help.

 

 

Almost forgot there is the tool box reports too.

Are these for creating a feature line or points or just an xml report?

 

 


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,885
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 10 of 10 (371 Views)

Re: Working back and forth from plan view and profile view

01-21-2013 11:00 AM in reply to: troma

troma wrote:


Joe-Bouza wrote:

Hi troma,

 

....

 

you can create a fl from the alignment

Where is this command?  I can't find it.  What does it do if you have multiple profiles on that alignment?

 

The fl can be dynamic to the profile changes if the check box is selected. One caviat: thelayout must match existing at both ends or you can get unpredictable results

 

FL ALIGNMENT.png

 

 

FL ALIGNMENT2.png

Allen and John have talked about turning on the 3d chain in the style , exploding the profile and being left with the profile in plan

I don't know what that means.  What & where is 3D chain?  Not supprisingly it doesn't show up in the help.

 

3dchain1.PNG

 

3dchain2.PNG

 

 

 

 

Almost forgot there is the tool box reports too.

Are these for creating a feature line or points or just an xml report?

 

REPORT

 

 


 

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.