AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
GreeneSWCD
Posts: 198
Registered: ‎03-29-2011
Message 1 of 6 (136 Views)

Work flow for Earthwork Options in the same place?

136 Views, 5 Replies
05-09-2014 07:11 AM

I'd like to design a few different options for an earthen berm in the same spot.  How do I keep them all separate?  For instance, I'd like to have a hill at different heights along with different side slopes.  I thought I'd just use different surfaces, but even when I turn the surfaces to no disaplay, I still have my feature lines staying put. 

 

My goal is to build sheets showing each hill option with an earthwork computation for each option.  I'm sure this is a simple endeavor, I'm just looking for a way to keep it clean. 

 

I'd like to do each option in its separate site, and then just be looking at one site at a time.  Is this possible?

Valued Mentor
awood
Posts: 313
Registered: ‎06-24-2005
Message 2 of 6 (119 Views)

Re: Work flow for Earthwork Options in the same place?

05-09-2014 09:12 AM in reply to: GreeneSWCD

How about Data Referencing the design surfaces into seperate drawings/sheets for plan production?

 

HTH

AWood

Distinguished Contributor
GreeneSWCD
Posts: 198
Registered: ‎03-29-2011
Message 3 of 6 (115 Views)

Re: Work flow for Earthwork Options in the same place?

05-09-2014 09:36 AM in reply to: awood
I've never data referenced before, could you point me to a tutorial or walk me through here?
Valued Mentor
awood
Posts: 313
Registered: ‎06-24-2005
Message 4 of 6 (110 Views)

Re: Work flow for Earthwork Options in the same place?

05-09-2014 09:59 AM in reply to: GreeneSWCD

It's actually a pretty simple process, similiar in idea to external references (XREFs).

There are in-software tutorials to guide you through the process.

http://docs.autodesk.com/CIV3D/2012/ENU/filesCTU/GUID-68AC7599-F635-4391-9F9A-6E9EF96F9ED-102.htm

 

HTH

AWood

 

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,756
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 5 of 6 (99 Views)

Re: Work flow for Earthwork Options in the same place?

05-10-2014 12:46 AM in reply to: GreeneSWCD
You could also make copies in the same dwg and displace by an appropriate amount and if you put the feature lines on different layers these can be frozen as needed in viewports etc. Same goes for surfaces - add a name suffix for the main surface object in settings and the surface can be frozen in viewports
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,884
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 6 of 6 (89 Views)

Re: Work flow for Earthwork Options in the same place?

05-10-2014 06:13 AM in reply to: GreeneSWCD

all good suggestions. This was a question only a few days ago you may find interesting >>>HERE<<<

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.