AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Mentor
gccdaemon
Posts: 458
Registered: ‎09-14-2010
Message 1 of 12 (261 Views)

Wipeout and Textframe

261 Views, 11 Replies
03-27-2013 02:06 PM

Wipeouts, and Textframes work in plan view and print preview, but show as disabled in PDF when printed. They are on the same layer as my text so it's not on Defpoints or some other frozen/vp freeze/no plot layer. They do print to DWF propperly though. It also doesn't matter what the frame setting or transparency settings are nothing seems to work for PDF. Any ideas?

Andrew Ingram

Civil 3D x64 2012
Win 7 x64 Ultimate
I7 3820 (3.6ghz quad core with HT)
32gig RAM (Corsair XMS3 4x8g)
Intel x z79 mobo (BOXDX79TO 2011 socket)
Radeon HD 7850 2gb GDDR5
*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,251
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 2 of 12 (242 Views)

Re: Wipeout and Textframe

03-27-2013 03:27 PM in reply to: gccdaemon

Wipeouts have not behaved in PDF's for as long as I've used them. I've never found a solution but you might get some hits from Google.

 

If you are using them to mask text, have you tried the Autocad text backgound command?

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
Valued Mentor
gccdaemon
Posts: 458
Registered: ‎09-14-2010
Message 3 of 12 (233 Views)

Re: Wipeout and Textframe

03-27-2013 03:58 PM in reply to: Neilw

I use it all the time, but this is a file from another engineering company, and there is <gasp> no mtext. I went ahead and printed to DWF and then printed that to PDF with no problems. I've had wipeouts worrk as recently as 2012, so i guess Autodesk is killing out the older legacy items one by one, huh?

Andrew Ingram

Civil 3D x64 2012
Win 7 x64 Ultimate
I7 3820 (3.6ghz quad core with HT)
32gig RAM (Corsair XMS3 4x8g)
Intel x z79 mobo (BOXDX79TO 2011 socket)
Radeon HD 7850 2gb GDDR5
*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,251
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 4 of 12 (226 Views)

Re: Wipeout and Textframe

03-27-2013 04:12 PM in reply to: gccdaemon

In spite of the problematic behavior of wipeouts over the years, they do still serve a purpose aside from masking text.

 

There may be a free utility to convert DTEXT to MTEXT without lumping it all into a single piece of MTEXT. I believe Terry Dotson has such a tool in his DOTSOFT TOOLPAC tools.

 

This is a good case for an enhancement request.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,747
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 5 of 12 (212 Views)

Re: Wipeout and Textframe

03-27-2013 06:47 PM in reply to: gccdaemon
Usually wipeoutsa that don't work in PDFs have to do with the drivers used to both print and view the PDF. Make sure to use the DWG to PDF driver to print and Adobe PDF reader to view.

Sometimes, there are settings during print that cause problems.

Sometime it just doesn't work.
Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,865
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 6 of 12 (187 Views)

Re: Wipeout and Textframe

03-28-2013 05:12 AM in reply to: Neilw

Terry offers the TXT2MTXT.LSP for free at http://www.dotsoft.com/freestuff.htm

 

Allen Jessup

Valued Mentor
gccdaemon
Posts: 458
Registered: ‎09-14-2010
Message 7 of 12 (180 Views)

Re: Wipeout and Textframe

03-28-2013 07:38 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

Expresstools has a convert text to mtext command which i normally use, but i'm not going to waste a bunch of time converting some 400-500 callouts. I did use the DWG to PDF when creating the PDF, and i think that's where the problem lies. I tried printing directly to Adobe, and got a blank sheet after a 5 minute hang up when printing. Like i said earlier, it works when printing to DWF first, then printing to Adobe from the DWF.

Andrew Ingram

Civil 3D x64 2012
Win 7 x64 Ultimate
I7 3820 (3.6ghz quad core with HT)
32gig RAM (Corsair XMS3 4x8g)
Intel x z79 mobo (BOXDX79TO 2011 socket)
Radeon HD 7850 2gb GDDR5
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,865
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 8 of 12 (177 Views)

Re: Wipeout and Textframe

03-28-2013 07:43 AM in reply to: gccdaemon

I always use the CutePDF writer (free) to plot and CutePDF (inexpensive) to edit. There seem to be much less issues. I have wipeouts in block that plot with no trouble. I don't use them in regular drawing much anymore.

 

Allen Jessup

Valued Mentor
gccdaemon
Posts: 458
Registered: ‎09-14-2010
Message 9 of 12 (168 Views)

Re: Wipeout and Textframe

03-28-2013 08:25 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

Well, if you ask me it's got something to do with autocad's image handeling. That's the base of any masking that autodesk uses with an exception to mtext masking. I also use wipeouts in some of my boundary pin blocks, and never had problems before 2013. I think there are some internal components that autodesk has yet to complete in the programming, so i'll just chock it up to autodesks constat "Work in progress" programming. Thanks for all the input guys, i'm going to submit another ticket about this...lol.

Andrew Ingram

Civil 3D x64 2012
Win 7 x64 Ultimate
I7 3820 (3.6ghz quad core with HT)
32gig RAM (Corsair XMS3 4x8g)
Intel x z79 mobo (BOXDX79TO 2011 socket)
Radeon HD 7850 2gb GDDR5
*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,251
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 10 of 12 (167 Views)

Re: Wipeout and Textframe

03-28-2013 08:28 AM in reply to: gccdaemon

Just an FYI,

 

The TXT2MTXT command in Express tools lumps all the selected text into a single MTEXT object, which you don't want. To avoid that you would have to run the command on each piece of text, which obviously is not practical.

 

The DOTSOFT TOOLPAC tools have the ability to convert multiple pieces of text while leaving them as separate entities. It's not free though.

 

Allen, does Terry's TXT2MTXT LISP tool work the same as the Express Tool or does it preserve the pieces as separate entities?

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.