AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,918
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 11 of 31 (829 Views)

Re: Windows 8

09-21-2012 05:41 AM in reply to: antoniovinci

I am not in pursuit of the latest OS. We're upgrading a couple of computers and wanted to have Windows 7 installed. It was our purchasing department that said we should buy 8 and got a quote for that. I have no idea why. I'm recommending we install 7.

 

I could not do all I needed to do with XP. Civil 3D is a very memory hungry application. It's possible that if I had XP 64 I wouldn't have needed Windows 7 but last year it would have been even more trouble to try and get that installed. Installing Windows 7 and upping the RAM to 12GB has allowed me to concentrate on my work rather than my computer. So I think it was a good investment. I've also come to the opinion that while XP was a good OS 7 is even better.

 

Allen

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,667
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 12 of 31 (824 Views)

Re: Windows 8

09-21-2012 05:49 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

AllenJessup wrote:

I am not in pursuit of the latest OS


I agree now, but my post was not for you, gentleman Allen, but for "all" you gentlemen out there.

Have a nice weekend, sir.

Valued Mentor
engrtech
Posts: 738
Registered: ‎05-05-2008
Message 13 of 31 (715 Views)

Re: Windows 8

10-25-2012 11:18 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

Well, it comes out tomorrow.  I wonder how long it'll take Autodesk to give information about which versions of C3D will work and not work.

IDSP 2015
Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
8GB RAM
*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,261
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 14 of 31 (695 Views)

Re: Windows 8

10-25-2012 09:52 PM in reply to: engrtech

As with any new OS there may be issues and maybe not. If you jump now you will be a beta testor.

 

Someone has to do it, but personally I'd rather wait a few months and let others figure out the quirks.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,918
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 15 of 31 (680 Views)

Re: Windows 8

10-26-2012 05:35 AM in reply to: engrtech

I'm spec'ing Windows 7 on our new computers. If there is a good reason to upgrade I'll deal with that then.

 

Allen

Contributor
matthew.ram
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎12-06-2006
Message 16 of 31 (485 Views)

Re: Windows 8

12-01-2012 12:42 AM in reply to: AllenJessup
It's all opinions. I love the look and feel of windows 8. It's support of ssds are far superiour than that of 7, just to name one. It just takes time for all the software.companies to upgrade their programs.

Also, with my testing, I haven't seen an issue with my design suite premium as of yet, but I would like Autodesk to hurry up and update their software to support win 8 officially.
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,783
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 17 of 31 (228 Views)

Re: Windows 8

03-26-2013 04:03 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

C3D 2014 IS supported under Win 8 http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=15444804&linkID=9240697&CMP=OTC-RSS... but Win 7 is recommended

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,070
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 18 of 31 (226 Views)

Re: Windows 8

03-26-2013 04:06 AM in reply to: neilyj

And no WinXP too .... and no x32

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,783
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 19 of 31 (225 Views)

Re: Windows 8

03-26-2013 04:08 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Alfred, looks like you may have to upgrade..:smileywink:

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,070
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 20 of 31 (220 Views)

Re: Windows 8

03-26-2013 04:12 AM in reply to: neilyj

Hi,

 

>> Alfred, looks like you may have to upgrade.

I guess now I have to update from DOS 2.1 to Windows animierte smilies lachen grinsen happy freuen smilen witzig froh

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.