AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
6,269 Posts
485 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Post 1 of 33
Accepted Solution

Windows 8

2459 Views, 32 Replies
09-20-2012 10:30 AM

Anyone using that yet. We've gotten permission to upgrade a couple of XP machines and spec'd Windows 7. Our purchasing dept. wants to order Windows 8 (my jaw just about hit the floor) but now I've been asked if there will be any problems running Civil 3D 2012 on Windows 8. I know it's not tested on it. I'd think that everything should run fine. But if anyone has experience with it, I'd like to hear it.

 

Allen

 

BTW The computers that are being upgraded are both Dell Precision Workstations that would have come with Win 7 if our IT dept. didn't force XP on us at that time.

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-Civil-3D/Autocad-Civil-3d-2013-amp-Windows-8/m-p/3625214#M185663

 

Looks like 2013 is ok, but 2012 needs help in order to install.

I've taken the suggestions not to use Windows 8 at this point. Now we have to convince our purchasing dept. to order 7.

 

Allen

*Expert Elite*
4,596 Posts
911 Kudos
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Post 2 of 33

Re: Windows 8

09-20-2012 10:36 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-Civil-3D/Autocad-Civil-3d-2013-amp-Windows-8/m-p/3625214#M1856...

 

Looks like 2013 is ok, but 2012 needs help in order to install.

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
*Expert Elite*
6,269 Posts
485 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Post 3 of 33

Re: Windows 8

09-20-2012 10:54 AM in reply to: Jeff_M

Thanks Jeff.

 

As long as I have the workaround Mike Robertson I thinks things will be OK. Or I can just use this as an excuse to install 2013.

 

Allen

*Expert Elite*
4,049 Posts
343 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Post 4 of 33

Re: Windows 8

09-20-2012 11:35 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

Go for 2013....

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 500Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
2,290 Posts
418 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Post 5 of 33

Re: Windows 8

09-20-2012 11:38 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

After reading some of the reviews of Windows 8 I think that we will be avoiding it for as long as possbile.

 

http://www.maximumpc.com/article/features/windows_8_Review?page=0,0

*Expert Elite*
2,799 Posts
288 Kudos
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Post 6 of 33

Re: Windows 8

09-20-2012 12:27 PM in reply to: AllenJessup

Be prepared for Autodesk not to support you should things go wrong.  Win 8 is not stated on the 2013 system requirements.  I would avoid it.

Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
*Expert Elite*
2,797 Posts
308 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Post 7 of 33

Re: Windows 8

09-20-2012 03:10 PM in reply to: mathewk

I agree with Matt. Run Civil 3D on a platform specifically supported by Autodesk.

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
*Expert Elite*
6,269 Posts
485 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Post 8 of 33

Re: Windows 8

09-21-2012 04:47 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

I've taken the suggestions not to use Windows 8 at this point. Now we have to convince our purchasing dept. to order 7.

 

Allen

*Expert Elite*
4,049 Posts
343 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Post 9 of 33

Re: Windows 8

09-21-2012 05:15 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

An opinion of Windows 8 - http://www.theinquirer.net/inquirer/opinion/2200879/windows-8-will-be-another-disaster-for-microsoft...

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 500Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
1,793 Posts
194 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Post 10 of 33

Re: Windows 8

09-21-2012 05:30 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

Gentlemen,

maybe I belong to prehistory, but I swear I can do all my bosses require from me, only with my proud golden olden Windows XP...

If sometimes I need more than 4 GB Ram, e.g. to manage huge data, I run opensource 64-bit software on a Win7 laptop.

So I can't understand your pursuit of the very last Windows release: what for?

At home I may enjoy the beauty of Aero interface on our 42" plasma TV via HDMI, but at work no room for fireworks, thanks.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post