AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
bigmaz
Posts: 133
Registered: ‎09-27-2006
Message 1 of 7 (237 Views)

Wind Farm hardstanding grading, soooo slow

237 Views, 6 Replies
05-10-2012 03:39 AM

Hi guys.  I am working on a wind farm, it isnt particularly big, it has 14 Turbines.  I am having a problem with the grading on the hardstands, its taking so long to make amendments, or add gradings.  I have all 14 surfaces on the same drawing.  Should I have a seperate DWG for each hardstand and use data shortcuts for each?  I just thought that would be overkill, but starting to think that would have been a better way of working.  (I actually have a seperate data shortcut for each hardstandsurface).  Just a pain flicking between DWG's.  But probably quicker doing that than waiting for the computer to process doing it the way I have done.  Wondering what others have done with wid farm hardstandings?

 

Regards

Martin

Mentor
dasindog
Posts: 186
Registered: ‎12-02-2009
Message 2 of 7 (228 Views)

Re: Wind Farm hardstanding grading, soooo slow

05-10-2012 04:52 AM in reply to: bigmaz

What are you using to create the surfaces? I would assume this would be simple enough to use featurelines and that it shouldn't be a hassle to make amendments. What is the area you are grading? What size is you DWG? Which version of Civil 3D are you using?

-Dustin
Civil 3D 2013 64 bit SP1
Windows 7 Pro 64
Intel Xeon 2.93GHz
24GB RAM
NVIDIA Quadro FX 580
explodetheblock.wordpress.com
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,781
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 3 of 7 (225 Views)

Re: Wind Farm hardstanding grading, soooo slow

05-10-2012 05:01 AM in reply to: bigmaz

My typical workflow for this work is to create an EGL and then a surface representing competent material that could be used in cut and fil i.e. base of peat/soft clay etc and these surface are then created as data shortcuts.

 

I draw up the turbine manufacturers hardstand (including adjacent road, blade finger area and rotor assembly area – if required) and offset by 1-1.2m to get the formation area. The hardstand “block” is then copied to the WTG locations and rotated so that the long side is parallel to the EGL contours (for minimum cut and fill)

 

There is usually a 1:100 longitudinal fall allowed so I use the C3D Surface Working Plane 2013 application to create a working plane from which the formation featureline takes its level such that finished platform level is within the tolerance above/below the WTG concrete base level.

 

I then use the grading tools to create a 1:1 cut & 1:2 fill batter to competent material and then balance the grading to zero (where possible). The competent material surface and individual cranepad surfaces are then pasted to a composite surface which is used for the alignments.

 

I regularly calculate volumes in this way for 20 turbine windfarms and don't encounter problems. The best practice is to keep each cranepad's featurelines and grading together and each cranepad in it's own different site e.g. 14 sites in your example (see screenshot of one I'm working on at present)

 

What are the specs of your computer/OS and which version of C3D are you using??

 

PS do you work for a developer, consultant or contractor?

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
New Member
allanmm
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-08-2010
Message 4 of 7 (206 Views)

Re: Wind Farm hardstanding grading, soooo slow

05-10-2012 07:34 AM in reply to: neilyj

Hi Neilyj

 

Thats roughly the steps I took.  The working plane tool in 2013 sounds good.  I use 2012, so I just create a working plane with adding breaklines to a surface, drape the featureline over that suraface and grade from there to the sub formation.

 

We use the HP Z210 workstation:

Intel Xeon® E3-1225 3.10 GHz

Windows 7 Professional 64bit

12GB RAM

NVIDIA Quadro 2000

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,781
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 5 of 7 (202 Views)

Re: Wind Farm hardstanding grading, soooo slow

05-10-2012 07:40 AM in reply to: allanmm

allanmm wrote:

Hi Neilyj

 

Thats roughly the steps I took.  The working plane tool in 2013 sounds good.  I use 2012, so I just create a working plane with adding breaklines to a surface, drape the featureline over that suraface and grade from there to the sub formation.

 

We use the HP Z210 workstation:

Intel Xeon® E3-1225 3.10 GHz

Windows 7 Professional 64bit

12GB RAM

NVIDIA Quadro 2000


This "free but unsupported"" tool is also available for 2012

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Distinguished Contributor
bigmaz
Posts: 133
Registered: ‎09-27-2006
Message 6 of 7 (196 Views)

Re: Wind Farm hardstanding grading, soooo slow

05-10-2012 08:01 AM in reply to: neilyj

Sorry, I was signed into a different account there, and replied under that account.  Will look for that add on thanks.

 

What do you think of our machine spec?

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,781
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 7 of 7 (191 Views)

Re: Wind Farm hardstanding grading, soooo slow

05-10-2012 08:10 AM in reply to: bigmaz

Here's a link http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-Civil-3D-Customization/Working-Plane-Grading-tools/td-p/331059...

 

You machine spec should be fine for these tasks  - you could always WBLOCK the drawing and see if that clears away any unwanted data that's slowing the macine down (this has worked for me in the past)

 

 

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.