AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
embe8ch
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎08-29-2008
Message 1 of 7 (1,520 Views)

Will Autocad Civil3D 2014 Perform with Intel Core i5-4440, 8GB AIO PC?

1520 Views, 6 Replies
02-18-2014 09:51 AM

Original Request--Problem Description: 

I am considering a purchase of this system (link below) and would like to be sure Autocad Civil3D

2014 will perform or even install on it. Graphics are an Integrated system. (If not, is it possible to install Civil3D on any AIO PC? Recommendation?)

 

Thank you for your input and consideration.

 

Lenovo B550 All-In-One PC - Intel Core i5-4440 3.10GHz, 8GB Memory,

1TB HDD, DVDRW, 23" Display, Windows 8.1 64-bit - 57323749   

 

Link:

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?E

 

CaseNo:09256077.

 

Autodesk Product: AutoCAD

Release: civil3d 2014

OS: Windows 8 64-bit

System Manufacturer: Lenovo

System Model: B550 All-In-One PC - Intel Core i5-4440 3.10GHz Graphics

Card Manufacturer: Intel Graphics Card Name: Intel HD Graphics 4600

Graphics Card Driver: Driver Tuner Setup 3.1.0.1

*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,698
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 2 of 7 (1,517 Views)

Re: Will Autocad Civil3D 2014 Perform with Intel Core i5-4440, 8GB AIO PC?

02-18-2014 10:06 AM in reply to: embe8ch

Win 8 is a bit of a toss-up, I wouldn't recommend Win 8.1.  Win 7 is still the preferred choice.

8 GB RAM is OK for learning ie. small "play" projects but 16GB would be preferable for any real world work.

You will need a dedicated video card.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Distinguished Mentor
michael.robertson
Posts: 604
Registered: ‎03-18-2008
Message 3 of 7 (1,496 Views)

Re: Will Autocad Civil3D 2014 Perform with Intel Core i5-4440, 8GB AIO PC?

02-18-2014 11:22 AM in reply to: embe8ch

Should work fine we are pretty much running the same machines just not in AIO format.

 

We are running Win8.1 without any problems. Most of the guys complained a few days until they figured out to set it up, After about a week I asked them if they want to go back to Win7 all refused.

 

I could explain why Win 8 is not a problem for production work but that would probably start a war. I will say we don't use Metro Apps at all.

Mike Robertson
FL. Dept. of Transportation
CADD Applications Developer
*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,690
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 4 of 7 (1,489 Views)

Re: Will Autocad Civil3D 2014 Perform with Intel Core i5-4440, 8GB AIO PC?

02-18-2014 11:39 AM in reply to: michael.robertson

michael.robertson wrote:

 

We are running Win8.1 without any problems. Most of the guys complained a few days until they figured out to set it up, After about a week I asked them if they want to go back to Win7 all refused.

 

I could explain why Win 8 is not a problem for production work but that would probably start a war. I will say we don't use Metro Apps at all.


i also have windows 8 no issues with 2014 products yet i have not upgraded to Windows 8.1 no reason to yet

i installed classic shell which can hide the start screen and the charms bar

back to your question would an AIO run civil 3d probably but you would be having performance issues since your using an integrated graphics card

Valued Contributor
mbcastle
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
Message 5 of 7 (1,434 Views)

Re: Will Autocad Civil3D 2014 Perform with Intel Core i5-4440, 8GB AIO PC?

02-20-2014 04:58 PM in reply to: embe8ch
Don't be scared off by Windows 8 - it's fine. I've been using Windows 8 since the day it was released and I honestly don't understand all of the bitching and moaning about it. As for the rest of your question I'm using a Core 2 Duo purchased in 2007 with 8 GB of RAM. Not an ideal setup, I'll agree, but it performs acceptably. I do have a discrete video card (Quadro FX 580) and I would also recommend you avoid the integrated graphics.
Mark Castle
Civil 3D 2014, SP1
Win 8.1 64-Bit, 8 GB RAM
Core 2 Duo 6400, Quadro FX 580
Valued Contributor
L3GO-Ed
Posts: 70
Registered: ‎11-28-2013
Message 6 of 7 (1,419 Views)

Re: Will Autocad Civil3D 2014 Perform with Intel Core i5-4440, 8GB AIO PC?

02-20-2014 10:55 PM in reply to: mbcastle
Distinguished Contributor
nikoue
Posts: 223
Registered: ‎08-17-2009
Message 7 of 7 (1,399 Views)

Re: Will Autocad Civil3D 2014 Perform with Intel Core i5-4440, 8GB AIO PC?

02-21-2014 05:19 AM in reply to: L3GO-Ed
i Also use windows 8.1 pro and i think even my civil 3d 2013 with the latest servise pack performs smoother tha win 7 ultimate
Civil 3d 2013. Also i'm trying Civil 3d 2015
Win 7 Ultimate x64 OCZ RevoDrive 240GB
Intel i7 930 Ati Firepro V7800 12 GB Ram

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.