AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,926
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 11 of 21 (298 Views)

Re: Why does my linetype change if i rotate passed 180 degrees?

11-01-2012 12:45 PM in reply to: cadman33619

I can't get this to work at all...:smileyfrustrated:

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 500Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 6,100
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 12 of 21 (293 Views)

Re: Why does my linetype change if i rotate passed 180 degrees?

11-01-2012 12:54 PM in reply to: neilyj

If either of you want to email me a jessupa at co.rockland.ny.us I'll send both files to you.

 

Attached is a file created in 2012 and saved to 2007 with the linetype shown in it.

 

Allen

Distinguished Contributor
cadman33619
Posts: 180
Registered: ‎07-21-2009
Message 13 of 21 (290 Views)

Re: Why does my linetype change if i rotate passed 180 degrees?

11-01-2012 12:59 PM in reply to: AllenJessup

i see..

 

ok im getting bad definition on line 2. i copied yours exactly.

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 6,100
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 14 of 21 (282 Views)

Re: Why does my linetype change if i rotate passed 180 degrees?

11-01-2012 01:15 PM in reply to: cadman33619

I've reviewed the creation of custom linetypes from the 2012 help files. The only difference I see is that they now specify the the .SHX extension. Like this:

 

*FENCEX,Fence with Xs
A,1.0,-0.09848,[FENCEX,FenceX.shp,s=.05],-0.09848,1.0

 

I also see that in the original post I said to rename the the file to a .SHP file. It should be a .SHX file.

 

Allen

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,926
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 15 of 21 (277 Views)

Re: Why does my linetype change if i rotate passed 180 degrees?

11-01-2012 01:56 PM in reply to: neilyj

Still no luck - I'll try again tomorrow with fresh eyes...

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 500Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Distinguished Mentor
andrewpuller3811
Posts: 787
Registered: ‎07-30-2008
Message 16 of 21 (266 Views)

Re: Why does my linetype change if i rotate passed 180 degrees?

11-01-2012 06:57 PM in reply to: neilyj

you need to compile the shp file first.

 

In autocad type "Compile" (without the quotes) on the commandline

Locate and select the fencex.shp file and click open.

 

The command line should show this

 

"Compiling shape/font description file
Compilation successful.  Output file D:\My Documents\Cad\AWP Cad Setup\Line Types\FenceX.shx contains 100 bytes."

 

Using windows explorer, copy the resulting FenceX.shx file into a folder in your support path.

 

Back in autocad, load the linetype from the FenceX.lin file.

 

 

 

If this fixed your issue, click on "Accept as Solution"

Andrew Puller
Maitland, NSW, Australia
Windows 7 Enterprise 64bit
Intel core i7 2600 @ 3.40 GHz with 16GB Ram
Civil 3d 2013 64bit
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,926
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 17 of 21 (244 Views)

Re: Why does my linetype change if i rotate passed 180 degrees?

11-02-2012 01:53 AM in reply to: andrewpuller3811

Thanks Andrew that seems to have done the trick:smileyhappy:

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 500Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Distinguished Contributor
cadman33619
Posts: 180
Registered: ‎07-21-2009
Message 18 of 21 (236 Views)

Re: Why does my linetype change if i rotate passed 180 degrees?

11-02-2012 06:17 AM in reply to: neilyj

no working for me at all. guess i'll have to give up.

 

but i appreciate all your help guys.

Employee
peterfunkautodesk
Posts: 720
Registered: ‎08-25-2009
Message 19 of 21 (231 Views)

Re: Why does my linetype change if i rotate passed 180 degrees?

11-02-2012 06:41 AM in reply to: cadman33619

Have you tried the linetypes that ship with Civil 3D? There are two barbed wire fences in the AeccLand.lin linetype file that contain an "X" that stay centered in the line as the line is rotated.

 

Regards,

 

Peter Funk

Autodesk, Inc.



Peter Funk
Autodesk, Inc.

Distinguished Contributor
cadman33619
Posts: 180
Registered: ‎07-21-2009
Message 20 of 21 (228 Views)

Re: Why does my linetype change if i rotate passed 180 degrees?

11-02-2012 07:15 AM in reply to: peterfunkautodesk

wow...the barbed wire line types in AeccLand.lin are perfect. had no idea they were there.

 

thanks so much.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!