AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
4,052 Posts
343 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Post 11 of 21

Re: Why does my linetype change if i rotate passed 180 degrees?

11-01-2012 12:45 PM in reply to: cadman33619

I can't get this to work at all...:smileyfrustrated:

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 500Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
6,271 Posts
485 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Post 12 of 21

Re: Why does my linetype change if i rotate passed 180 degrees?

11-01-2012 12:54 PM in reply to: neilyj

If either of you want to email me a jessupa at co.rockland.ny.us I'll send both files to you.

 

Attached is a file created in 2012 and saved to 2007 with the linetype shown in it.

 

Allen

Distinguished Contributor
180 Posts
2 Kudos
Registered: ‎07-21-2009
Post 13 of 21

Re: Why does my linetype change if i rotate passed 180 degrees?

11-01-2012 12:59 PM in reply to: AllenJessup

i see..

 

ok im getting bad definition on line 2. i copied yours exactly.

*Expert Elite*
6,271 Posts
485 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Post 14 of 21

Re: Why does my linetype change if i rotate passed 180 degrees?

11-01-2012 01:15 PM in reply to: cadman33619

I've reviewed the creation of custom linetypes from the 2012 help files. The only difference I see is that they now specify the the .SHX extension. Like this:

 

*FENCEX,Fence with Xs
A,1.0,-0.09848,[FENCEX,FenceX.shp,s=.05],-0.09848,1.0

 

I also see that in the original post I said to rename the the file to a .SHP file. It should be a .SHX file.

 

Allen

*Expert Elite*
4,052 Posts
343 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Post 15 of 21

Re: Why does my linetype change if i rotate passed 180 degrees?

11-01-2012 01:56 PM in reply to: neilyj

Still no luck - I'll try again tomorrow with fresh eyes...

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 500Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Distinguished Mentor
796 Posts
126 Kudos
Registered: ‎07-30-2008
Post 16 of 21

Re: Why does my linetype change if i rotate passed 180 degrees?

11-01-2012 06:57 PM in reply to: neilyj

you need to compile the shp file first.

 

In autocad type "Compile" (without the quotes) on the commandline

Locate and select the fencex.shp file and click open.

 

The command line should show this

 

"Compiling shape/font description file
Compilation successful.  Output file D:\My Documents\Cad\AWP Cad Setup\Line Types\FenceX.shx contains 100 bytes."

 

Using windows explorer, copy the resulting FenceX.shx file into a folder in your support path.

 

Back in autocad, load the linetype from the FenceX.lin file.

 

 

 

If this fixed your issue, click on "Accept as Solution"

Andrew Puller
Maitland, NSW, Australia
Windows 7 Enterprise 64bit
Intel core i7 2600 @ 3.40 GHz with 16GB Ram
Civil 3d 2013 64bit
*Expert Elite*
4,052 Posts
343 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Post 17 of 21

Re: Why does my linetype change if i rotate passed 180 degrees?

11-02-2012 01:53 AM in reply to: andrewpuller3811

Thanks Andrew that seems to have done the trick:smileyhappy:

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 500Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Distinguished Contributor
180 Posts
2 Kudos
Registered: ‎07-21-2009
Post 18 of 21

Re: Why does my linetype change if i rotate passed 180 degrees?

11-02-2012 06:17 AM in reply to: neilyj

no working for me at all. guess i'll have to give up.

 

but i appreciate all your help guys.

Employee
720 Posts
88 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-25-2009
Post 19 of 21

Re: Why does my linetype change if i rotate passed 180 degrees?

11-02-2012 06:41 AM in reply to: cadman33619

Have you tried the linetypes that ship with Civil 3D? There are two barbed wire fences in the AeccLand.lin linetype file that contain an "X" that stay centered in the line as the line is rotated.

 

Regards,

 

Peter Funk

Autodesk, Inc.



Peter Funk
Autodesk, Inc.

Distinguished Contributor
180 Posts
2 Kudos
Registered: ‎07-21-2009
Post 20 of 21

Re: Why does my linetype change if i rotate passed 180 degrees?

11-02-2012 07:15 AM in reply to: peterfunkautodesk

wow...the barbed wire line types in AeccLand.lin are perfect. had no idea they were there.

 

thanks so much.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!