AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
Pointdump
Posts: 793
Registered: ‎11-24-2009
Message 1 of 10 (240 Views)
Accepted Solution

Which Site?

240 Views, 9 Replies
04-18-2014 05:55 AM

Let's say you have at least two sites in the same drawing; one is called Survey Plat where the 3D Geometry is set to Flatten to Elevation, and one is called Lot Grading where the 3D Geometry is set to Use Elevation. How do you tell which site you're looking at? Is there a global setting to turn off the visibility of everything(Alignments, Grading Groups, Feature Lines, and Parcels) in a particular site? How do you keep things straight when you have multiple proposed site designs with multiple Parcel arrangements and Alignments?

Dave


Dave Stoll
Mohave Valley, Arizona

Intel Core i7-3820QM 3rd Generation Quad Core 2.7 GHZ CPU
16 GB DDR3 RAM ( 2 DIMM ) / 180 GB SSD
Nvidia GeForce 650M Graphics w/2 GB Memory
Windows 7 Professional 64 bit / AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014/2015

There is no single command to simply display everything on one site. Set up the Object layers so Parcels automatically get created on a layer with the site name. You can do the same with Flines. Layer control will now help you better see the site separation.

*Expert Elite*
Pointdump
Posts: 793
Registered: ‎11-24-2009
Message 2 of 10 (214 Views)

Re: Which Site?

04-18-2014 08:39 AM in reply to: Pointdump

OK, so on another thread I started, I'm using Fred's suggestion to draw some straw man Parcels and slap 'em around a bit to learn how they interact when you move or copy them to another Site. Cool. I know more than I did yesterday, so I'm happy about that. But I'd still like to know how to determine which Site my Parcels are on and how to turn off the visibility of all the other Sites.

Copy_To_Site.png

In the above screenshot, I grip-edited one of the Parcel Segments. By selecting "Site 5" my Preview shows which Segments belong to Site 5, but what if my drawing is hugely complicated with, say, dozens of Parcels, Alignments, and Feature Lines. How then do you tell what Site you're on?

 

Dave


Dave Stoll
Mohave Valley, Arizona

Intel Core i7-3820QM 3rd Generation Quad Core 2.7 GHZ CPU
16 GB DDR3 RAM ( 2 DIMM ) / 180 GB SSD
Nvidia GeForce 650M Graphics w/2 GB Memory
Windows 7 Professional 64 bit / AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014/2015
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,937
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 3 of 10 (212 Views)

Re: Which Site?

04-18-2014 08:46 AM in reply to: Pointdump

There is no single command to simply display everything on one site. Set up the Object layers so Parcels automatically get created on a layer with the site name. You can do the same with Flines. Layer control will now help you better see the site separation.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
*Expert Elite*
Pointdump
Posts: 793
Registered: ‎11-24-2009
Message 4 of 10 (209 Views)

Re: Which Site?

04-18-2014 08:59 AM in reply to: jmayo

Thanks, John. Brilliant and simple. I like it.

Dave


Dave Stoll
Mohave Valley, Arizona

Intel Core i7-3820QM 3rd Generation Quad Core 2.7 GHZ CPU
16 GB DDR3 RAM ( 2 DIMM ) / 180 GB SSD
Nvidia GeForce 650M Graphics w/2 GB Memory
Windows 7 Professional 64 bit / AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014/2015
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,937
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 5 of 10 (206 Views)

Re: Which Site?

04-18-2014 09:02 AM in reply to: Pointdump

HTH. Wish it was my brilliance and simplicity but I am just passing it along. :smileywink:

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,044
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 6 of 10 (179 Views)

Re: Which Site?

04-18-2014 01:45 PM in reply to: jmayo
I INVENTED THAT :smileyhappy:

Had a hand in the Internet too :smileyhappy:
Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,288
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 7 of 10 (163 Views)

Re: Which Site?

04-18-2014 06:43 PM in reply to: Pointdump

You could also use featureline styles to differentiate linework in different sites. I don't know if it would have any advantage over using layers but I wanted to through it out there in case there is.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
*Expert Elite*
Pointdump
Posts: 793
Registered: ‎11-24-2009
Message 8 of 10 (148 Views)

Re: Which Site?

04-19-2014 01:34 AM in reply to: Neilw

Thanks, Neil. All options are on the table, and the more choices, the better.

Dave


Dave Stoll
Mohave Valley, Arizona

Intel Core i7-3820QM 3rd Generation Quad Core 2.7 GHZ CPU
16 GB DDR3 RAM ( 2 DIMM ) / 180 GB SSD
Nvidia GeForce 650M Graphics w/2 GB Memory
Windows 7 Professional 64 bit / AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014/2015
Distinguished Mentor
rl_jackson
Posts: 800
Registered: ‎01-20-2008
Message 9 of 10 (139 Views)

Re: Which Site?

04-19-2014 06:51 AM in reply to: Pointdump
Pointdump

Here are some good rule for Parcels, that Dana Probert wrote sometime ago.

http://civil3drocks.blogspot.com/2006/06/parcel-rules-explained.html
C3D12-13
Win7x64 6gb
*Expert Elite*
Pointdump
Posts: 793
Registered: ‎11-24-2009
Message 10 of 10 (136 Views)

Re: Which Site?

04-19-2014 07:05 AM in reply to: rl_jackson

Thanks, RL. Good, solid reference material.

Dave


Dave Stoll
Mohave Valley, Arizona

Intel Core i7-3820QM 3rd Generation Quad Core 2.7 GHZ CPU
16 GB DDR3 RAM ( 2 DIMM ) / 180 GB SSD
Nvidia GeForce 650M Graphics w/2 GB Memory
Windows 7 Professional 64 bit / AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014/2015
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.