AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
tonnot
Posts: 317
Registered: ‎04-08-2008
Message 1 of 3 (147 Views)

Which are the "limits" of offset assemblies?

147 Views, 2 Replies
08-01-2013 03:52 AM

I have an offset assembly and I have forced the skew of the second aligment. 

(Is a simple basic lane + a linkslopebetweenpoints and a markedpoint placed at the left extreme of a basic road assembly)

 

As you can see, there are errors at the area in which we have the greater angle between cross sections. 

But I think there are geometrical solution to solve the problem.

 

What are the limits of this C3D feature ?  Above  more  that "x" degress of cross sections directions difference C3D are going to fail ? 

Thanks

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 


Civil 3D (2013) how much you have to improve....

Mentor
tonnot
Posts: 317
Registered: ‎04-08-2008
Message 2 of 3 (117 Views)

Re: Which are the "limits" of offset assemblies?

08-01-2013 10:27 AM in reply to: tonnot

the image.... sorry 

screen.jpg

 

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 


Civil 3D (2013) how much you have to improve....

Valued Mentor
david.zavislan
Posts: 266
Registered: ‎10-31-2006
Message 3 of 3 (83 Views)

Re: Which are the "limits" of offset assemblies?

08-05-2013 08:40 AM in reply to: tonnot

The problem is with the way the subassembly on the offset assembly is being calculated.   The math is done radial to the baseline alignment, but is applied radial to the offset alignment.

 

OffsetAssembly1.jpg

 

If you look closely to any of the corridor sections where the offset alignment is not parallel, you will see that this link does not line up exactly with the links on the main assembly.  It is just more obvious in this area.

 

A better way to model this is to add that link, going between the main assembly and the offset assembly, to the main assembly.  Then target the offset alignment and profile.  If you are using a link to marked point, you will need to rebuild the assembly so that the offset, with a marked point, occurs first.  Then add the link to marked point to the outside edge of the main assembly.

OffsetAssembly2.jpg

David Zavislan, P.E. | Wood Rodgers, Inc.
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.