Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What is the best resource for learning civil 3d?

24 REPLIES 24
Message 1 of 25
Anonymous
3155 Views, 24 Replies

What is the best resource for learning civil 3d?

As a cad designer of 11 years I am taking the step to try and learn civil 3d. I am not the best at self teaching and am curious if anyone has a good suggestion for a program or maybe a dvd/ book system to learn this software. there are a few out there but i hate to dump a good amount of money on something that is not worth buying. any help would be greatly appreciated.

24 REPLIES 24
Message 21 of 25
cdbrown
in reply to: Anonymous

Message 22 of 25
cdbrown
in reply to: Anonymous

I have been designing homes for 8 years and I am thinking about learning civil 3d so I can get a job with a firm near my home. What can I expect as a starting wage and how long will or should it take for me to learn this software?.
Message 23 of 25
Anonymous
in reply to: cdbrown

google, forums and au with real life experience will get you started.

Message 24 of 25
wfberry
in reply to: cdbrown

Learning software is one thing so I am going to ask you:

1.  What do you know about surveying?

Or

2.  What do you know about site design?

or

3.  What do you know about designing a road?

Just a few of the things to consider.

Bill

Message 25 of 25
cdbrown
in reply to: wfberry

Hello, I don't know much about surveying. I have been a residential design build contractor for the last 14 years. I draw house plans for builders and individual clients. I design on the computer with chiefarchitect software. I do design site plans for most of these clients. I also do 3d modeling of their home on their lot.

Chris

Sent from my iPad

Can't find what you're looking for? Ask the community or share your knowledge.