Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What is the benefit of using corridors?

6 REPLIES 6
Message 1 of 7
ltmullen
664 Views, 6 Replies

What is the benefit of using corridors?

OK, I'm still pretty new to Civil 3D and quite frankly to the world of civil engineering in general (graduated college less than a year ago) so I realize I may sound kind of silly (maybe like a caveman asking modern folks why they would want to use silverware) in asking a question that probably has a rather obvious answer to some...but what is the benefit of using corridors rather than simply using all of the things that go into a corridor--alignments, surfaces, profiles, sections, assemblies (which I don't understand yet either)--independently?

Is it just for design visualization? Does it have any benefit for developing construction plans?

6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
neilyj666
in reply to: ltmullen

because all the objects you mention work together to make the dynamic model from which volumes can be computed, surfaces can be derived for final surface and earthworks outline (formation), sections can be cut and plans produced.

PS welcome to the wonderful and occasionally frustrating world of civil 3d.....Smiley Wink

neilyj (No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)
Did you find this post helpful? Feel free to Like this post.
Did your question get successfully answered? Then click on the ACCEPT SOLUTION button.

EESignature

AEC Collection 2024 UKIE (mainly Civil 3D UKIE and IW)
Win 11 Pro x64, 1Tb Primary SSD, 1Tb Secondary SSD
64Gb RAM Intel(R) Xeon(R) W-11855M CPU @ 3.2GHz
NVIDIA RTX A5000 16Gb, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell Inspiron 7760
Message 3 of 7
ltmullen
in reply to: neilyj666

Thanks for the reply.