Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Volumes Surfaces are killing me.

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
dcutter
457 Views, 5 Replies

Volumes Surfaces are killing me.

I'm working on a mine closure plan.  I have 25 design surfaces for different areas of the mine.  They are divided into 4 phases of construction.  This is our third round of design and phase revisions.  The last thee have been OK.

I have a master design drawing for each phase.  These drawings call in the data shortcuts for all the smaller design surfaces associated with the phase.  They are then pasted into an FG that represents the end of that phase of construction.  That is served up as a data shortcut and brought in to the next phase of construction as the EG, and so on and so on.

I have a separate set of drawings for calculatingly volumes.  The looks at the EG of the previous phase and the master design drawing for the phase being reported on.  Then I make a series of volume surfaces with specific boundaries for the desired volumes.  The boundaries are fairly general and simple aim to cut out the islands of the deign surface to report the volumes. 

This has worked just great until this round of revisions.  Now, my volume surfaces are throwing errant triangulation from the actual boundary of the design surface out to the approximate boundary of the volume surface.  I'm having to go in and create a detailed boundary that follows the design surface perfectly.

No big deal, right?  To compound my frustration the files have ballooned up to nearly 400 megs.  This means that even simple commands and regens take for ever.  My only course of action is spending a day rebuilding several individual volume reporting files.  This is not in the budget.

Does anyone have any suggestions?

RANT FOLLOWS: