AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
chris.pettigrew
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-30-2011
Message 1 of 15 (1,996 Views)

VIEWPORT TYPE

1996 Views, 14 Replies
04-16-2012 02:35 PM

Typically when setting up a viewport in paper space I can change the viewport type at the bottom of the properties dialog box. In 2013 the option is available, but it will always snap back to undefined. I'm sure it is a setting somewhere. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks,

*Expert Elite*
Sinc
Posts: 6,207
Registered: ‎11-18-2006
Message 2 of 15 (1,978 Views)

Re: VIEWPORT TYPE

04-16-2012 07:48 PM in reply to: chris.pettigrew

Interesting...  I seem to be noticing the same problem.

 

Guess I need to explore this and try to figure it out, since I'm supposed to be doing some training later this week in how to create P&P sheets...  I hope nothing is broken in C3D 2013.  (Luckily, I think we'll be using C3D 2012, and not C3D 2013...)

Sinc
*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,767
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 3 of 15 (1,942 Views)

Re: VIEWPORT TYPE

04-17-2012 10:38 AM in reply to: Sinc

I am having the same problem.  No soliution yet.

Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
*Expert Elite*
Sinc
Posts: 6,207
Registered: ‎11-18-2006
Message 4 of 15 (1,926 Views)

Re: VIEWPORT TYPE

04-17-2012 03:38 PM in reply to: mathewk

Kind of a bad problem...

 

I wouldn't be in a hurry to jump to C3D 2013 just yet.

Sinc
*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,767
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 5 of 15 (1,922 Views)

Re: VIEWPORT TYPE

04-17-2012 03:51 PM in reply to: Sinc

Interestingly, if you open a 2012 file with that viewport already set, it stays set.  However, you can't change it in 2013.

Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,850
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 6 of 15 (1,910 Views)

Re: VIEWPORT TYPE

04-17-2012 09:41 PM in reply to: chris.pettigrew

I've been able to duplicate the issue on my system as well.

Brian Hailey
CAD-1.com
My Blog
*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,767
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 7 of 15 (1,907 Views)

Re: VIEWPORT TYPE

04-17-2012 10:05 PM in reply to: chris.pettigrew
I submitted a case to support but I havbe yet to hear back. A fairly serious problem if you're setting up a layout for use with the section and plan production tools.
Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
Valued Mentor
engrtech
Posts: 758
Registered: ‎05-05-2008
Message 8 of 15 (1,895 Views)

Re: VIEWPORT TYPE

04-18-2012 08:50 AM in reply to: chris.pettigrew

I just tried this also and get the same problem.

 

I think this has been the worst release since r13.

IDSP 2015
Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
8GB RAM
*Expert Elite*
Sinc
Posts: 6,207
Registered: ‎11-18-2006
Message 9 of 15 (1,865 Views)

Re: VIEWPORT TYPE

04-19-2012 12:17 AM in reply to: engrtech

Remember the initial release of 2007...?  :smileywink:

Sinc
*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,767
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 10 of 15 (1,846 Views)

Re: VIEWPORT TYPE

04-19-2012 07:27 AM in reply to: chris.pettigrew
Found a workaround for this. There is a new property preview sysvar PROPERTYPREVIEW. Turn it off.
Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!