AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
coopdetat
Posts: 201
Registered: ‎03-25-2011
Message 1 of 8 (1,392 Views)

VIEWCUBE skewed from WCS

1392 Views, 7 Replies
09-27-2012 08:32 AM

Hello all,

I've got a strange problem with my ViewCube.  My screen is showing the world ordinate system as it should in the standard plan view ( X horizontal,Y vertical); however, my ViewCube is skewed to the right about 30° (top view and rotated about 30° right). It is set to orient to the current UCS and the current UCS Is World. If I use the ViewCube to change the setting and orient it as top view orthogonal (north straight up) my view (UCS World) gets twisted left by about (not exactly) 30°.

 

Am I missing something or is this abnormal ViewCube behavior?

 

I really don't need the ViewCube and usually turn it off but this just bugs me.  Does anyone have any ideas about what's causing this or how to fix it? T

---------------------------------------------Signature--------------------------------------------
Civil Design Professional Since 1983 (Intergraph), AutoCAD since 1989
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit - Service Pack 1
Intel﴾R﴿ Core﴾TM﴿ i7-3820 CPU 3.60GHz; 16 GB DDR3 Dual Channel RAM
nVidia Quadro 4000; AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014, sp1
*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,378
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 2 of 8 (1,387 Views)

Re: VIEWCUBE skewed from WCS

09-27-2012 08:52 AM in reply to: coopdetat

Your North direction has been altered in the GEOGRAPHICLOCATION settings. This should be 0.

 

9-27-2012 8-50-59 AM.png

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Mentor
coopdetat
Posts: 201
Registered: ‎03-25-2011
Message 3 of 8 (1,375 Views)

Re: VIEWCUBE skewed from WCS

09-27-2012 09:49 AM in reply to: Jeff_M

Thank you.  Yet another feature that I have no use for so I never learned anything about it.  It seems to me that such features should be off by default rather than on.  GEOMARKERVISIBILITY=0 is a setting I had to add to my Acaddoc.lsp file.  All they do is force those that will not use them to find a way to disable them or turn them off.  Since no one here uses this, how and why it got set to a skewed angle baffles me.  It has nothing to do with reality for the site.

---------------------------------------------Signature--------------------------------------------
Civil Design Professional Since 1983 (Intergraph), AutoCAD since 1989
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit - Service Pack 1
Intel﴾R﴿ Core﴾TM﴿ i7-3820 CPU 3.60GHz; 16 GB DDR3 Dual Channel RAM
nVidia Quadro 4000; AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014, sp1
*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,378
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 4 of 8 (1,369 Views)

Re: VIEWCUBE skewed from WCS

09-27-2012 10:10 AM in reply to: coopdetat

Your signature line is cut off so I don't know if it shows which version of C3D you are using. I know that if I open a drawing in C3D2013 in which I've set a coordinate system in C3D2012, the North direction, and sometimes the UP direction, get randomly changed. I must go in and change them back to 0 & Z+ every time. One reason I'm still using 2012.

 

If you find a response which answers your question, please be sure to accept the actual post which helped you as the solution. This will help future searchers quickly find answers to their own questions. Thanks!

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,787
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 5 of 8 (1,355 Views)

Re: VIEWCUBE skewed from WCS

09-27-2012 12:15 PM in reply to: coopdetat

Is there a command line equivalent so that this can be incorporated into acaddoc.lsp??

 

I think it may have arisen for me by migrating my template from 2012 i.e open up my dwt and save as 2013 version..!!!

 

Does this setting actually affect anything coordinate wise etc?

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,378
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 6 of 8 (1,347 Views)

Re: VIEWCUBE skewed from WCS

09-27-2012 01:19 PM in reply to: neilyj

neilyj wrote:

Is there a command line equivalent so that this can be incorporated into acaddoc.lsp??

 

I think it may have arisen for me by migrating my template from 2012 i.e open up my dwt and save as 2013 version..!!!

 

Does this setting actually affect anything coordinate wise etc?


There might be something that can be done via lisp, will have to look into that. I don't think it affects C3D at all, but I could be wrong.

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Active Member
allen_thompson
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎11-19-2012
Message 7 of 8 (184 Views)

Re: VIEWCUBE skewed from WCS

07-02-2014 10:21 AM in reply to: Jeff_M
Thank you Jeff!
Active Member
allen_thompson
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎11-19-2012
Message 8 of 8 (176 Views)

Re: VIEWCUBE skewed from WCS

07-02-2014 12:03 PM in reply to: Jeff_M

How do you make the change stay.  Everytime I save the file the numbers change back???

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.