AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
lambertb
Posts: 199
Registered: ‎08-17-2007
Message 1 of 3 (198 Views)

View corridor feature on profile

198 Views, 2 Replies
06-21-2013 05:34 AM

I created a corridor and now wish to evaluate the edge of pavement and front of walk lines in relationship to the FG profile. I would like to project the ETW and Sidewalk_In onto the profile. The alignment and profile are in a different file than the corridor so I think I would need a new profile view in the corridor file to make things simplier.

 

I thought of a way I could maybe do it with a dozen steps, just wondering if anyone come up with an effective way of projecting corridor information onto a profile view?

 

Thanks.

C3D 2014 SP2, Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit
Dell T3500 workstation, too much ram to post
Go for the processor!
*Expert Elite*
mikeevans
Posts: 784
Registered: ‎09-29-2008
Message 2 of 3 (195 Views)

Re: View corridor feature on profile

06-21-2013 05:46 AM in reply to: lambertb
Sync the alignment and profile, perform Undo Mark and then bind the alignment & profile into the drawing. (promote alignment from data link)

Provided that the corridor is based on the alignment you will be able to export feature as profile. Otherwise the only way to do it it either VB.net to create profile from polyline/featureline or a dummy surface of the lineart.
Mike Evans

Civil3D 2013 / 2014 British UK
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3820 CPU @ 3.60GHz (8 CPUs), ~4.0GHz With 32768MB RAM, AMD FirePro V4900, Dedicated Memory: 984 MB, Shared Memory: 814 MB

Distinguished Contributor
nilesh33
Posts: 103
Registered: ‎07-08-2009
Message 3 of 3 (178 Views)

Re: View corridor feature on profile

06-21-2013 07:11 AM in reply to: lambertb

Hi,

 

You can try this one-

1. Create alignment and profile from the corridor featureline.

2. Create data shortcuts for these alignment & profiles.

3. Data reference them into the desired file.

Regards,
Nilesh J
Civil 3D 2012, SAC
16 GB Ram 64 Bit Win7
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.