AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
usu2002
Posts: 55
Registered: ‎12-01-2004
Message 1 of 22 (89 Views)

Vertical ties at Intersection

89 Views, 21 Replies
12-01-2004 09:20 AM
Is it possible to tie the intersection of a two different vertical alignments so that when you modify one vertical alignment, the other updates automatically at that point?
*Landman
Message 2 of 22 (89 Views)

Re: Vertical ties at Intersection

12-01-2004 09:27 AM in reply to: usu2002
Good suggestion but I dont believe that is possible. I posted below lock vital points on a profile below (somwhat similiar). I suggested they add that to the future wish list and I would also like your suggestion added as well. That would keep the dynamic relationship between design points tied. "usu2002" wrote in message news:13382340.1101921661778.JavaMail.jive@jiveforum2.autodesk.com... > Is it possible to tie the intersection of a two different vertical alignments so that when you modify one vertical alignment, the other updates automatically at that point?
Valued Contributor
usu2002
Posts: 55
Registered: ‎12-01-2004
Message 3 of 22 (89 Views)

Re: Vertical ties at Intersection

12-01-2004 12:43 PM in reply to: usu2002
Ya, that is definitely worthy of the wish list. I would think that it would at least be in the works. I mean with all of the dynamic, intelligent ability Civil 3D has I would think that would be something easy to do.
*wfb
Message 4 of 22 (89 Views)

Re: Vertical ties at Intersection

12-05-2004 06:32 AM in reply to: usu2002
I was thinking about this very thing and after further review, it appears there would be several options that would be difficult to place in every profile. 1. If the beginning (Sta 0+00) is raised, do I want the entire profile to be raised? I don't thing so. 2. How far and what slopes to change, relocation of PVI, etc. This could be rather difficult for a computer to replace a little "brain" power. wfb "usu2002" wrote in message news:23130437.1101933821493.JavaMail.jive@jiveforum2.autodesk.com... > Ya, that is definitely worthy of the wish list. I would think that it would at least be in the works. I mean with all of the dynamic, intelligent ability Civil 3D has I would think that would be something easy to do.
Valued Contributor
usu2002
Posts: 55
Registered: ‎12-01-2004
Message 5 of 22 (89 Views)

Re: Vertical ties at Intersection

12-07-2004 07:45 AM in reply to: usu2002
Well, maybe there could be a reference point displayed in the profile showing what that intersection elevation is for intersecting alignment. I'm just thinking of some way to make it easier to update both profiles when the intersection of the two changes on one profile. I've seen many times when people change one profile and forget to change the other.
*Don Reichle
Message 6 of 22 (89 Views)

Re: Vertical ties at Intersection

12-07-2004 06:31 PM in reply to: usu2002
Hey usu2002; Interesting handle you've got. I hope for all involved that someone other than the contractor catches that blunder. You do make use of the "Checked By" box in the title block, I'm sure. :-) Only kidding! But seriously, we still need to be responsible for something when payday rolls around. Many years ago, I heard a user dreaming of the "Project" button on the keyboard. But I want to be able to recognize when the PC spits out something that may be mathematically correct, but aesthetically down the toilet. And way before it gets into the Production stage, too. Over lunch today we were discussing issues regarding bringing some novice users up into the intermediate levels, and the point was made that they might not know the difference between Cut and Fill situations. I pointed out that type of user brings with them some inherent danger. We still need people who can recognize when something is wrong with a design, and why. And then can apply their knowledge and experience (or go get help) to fix it. I think that you are still looking for user intervention with this scenario, and for good reason. There may be a characteristic down the intersecting road that creates an unusable sag or crest condition by just having the alignment dynamically follow the "controlling" profile. HTH -- Don Reichle "King Of Work-Arounds" Barghausen Consulting Engineers Kent, WA USA LDT3 - SP1/CD3 - SP1 On WIN2K SP4 Dell 1.6 Ghz P4 512MB RAM NVIDIA 32MB AGP "usu2002" wrote in message news:5127385.1102434374617.JavaMail.jive@jiveforum2.autodesk.com... > Well, maybe there could be a reference point displayed in the profile showing what that intersection elevation is for intersecting alignment. I'm just thinking of some way to make it easier to update both profiles when the intersection of the two changes on one profile. I've seen many times when people change one profile and forget to change the other.
Contributor
Scott Wolfe
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎11-12-2004
Message 7 of 22 (89 Views)

Re: Vertical ties at Intersection

12-08-2004 08:17 AM in reply to: usu2002
how about dropping a pre-designed "solid" intersection that attaches to 2 alignments. seems like a slam dunk in the solid modeling world.
*Don Reichle
Message 8 of 22 (89 Views)

Re: Vertical ties at Intersection

12-08-2004 12:59 PM in reply to: usu2002
Hey Scott; I would be interested to find out how a pre-designed solid would fit the infinitely variable characteristics of each alignment. At the very least you would need around half a dozen to accommodate the variations in horizontal geometry. 1.. 3-way intersection - both roads tangent 2.. 3-way intersection - main road curved, connecting road tangent 3.. 3-way intersection - main road tangent, connecting road curved d.. 4-way intersection - all roads tangent e.. 4-way intersection - main road tangent, both connecting roads tangent f.. 4-way intersection - main road tangent, one connecting road curved, one connecting road tangent g.. 4-way intersection - all roads curved h.. 4-way intersection - main road curved, both connecting roads tangent i.. 4-way intersection - main road curved, one connecting road curved, one connecting road tangent And that wouldn't take into account the variations produced by differing radii on the curve examples. And to intentionally make a pun... A round-about would throw your suggestion into a loop. And finally, how would you handle the variations produced by the vertical data? It's really not a Flat World, you know. Nice try, though. -- Don Reichle "King Of Work-Arounds" Barghausen Consulting Engineers Kent, WA USA LDT3 - SP1/CD3 - SP1 On WIN2K SP4 Dell 1.6 Ghz P4 512MB RAM NVIDIA 32MB AGP "Scott Wolfe" wrote in message news:10031295.1102522668970.JavaMail.jive@jiveforum1.autodesk.com... > how about dropping a pre-designed "solid" intersection that attaches to 2 alignments. seems like a slam dunk in the solid modeling world.
Contributor
Scott Wolfe
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎11-12-2004
Message 9 of 22 (89 Views)

Re: Vertical ties at Intersection

12-08-2004 01:19 PM in reply to: usu2002
Yes you would need more than one, and when I was in the solid modeling world, I used to tie my models to the sketch (alignment would be similar to the sketch) now changing the sketch would adjust the model dynamically.

I still think having a few extra models would make life easier. for now, I'm going to ignore the fine detail of the radii at the intersection.

In Texas, (much flatter than Washington) many of the companies here just provide spot shots for the new surface. so this will make life much easier.

I like traffic circles, just havn't seen one in Texas yet. I think they are more of a European thing. Even Canada has been elliminating many of the ones they have had.
*Mark Martinez
Message 10 of 22 (89 Views)

Re: Vertical ties at Intersection

12-08-2004 02:11 PM in reply to: usu2002
Scott, I have one in my neighborhood. Relatively new about 2-3 yrs old. Granted it's nothing like what I've seen in Europe, but one none the less. Granted I prefer them to the monster speed bumps they've been installing these days! Mark Martinez The D.C. CADD Company - San Antonio, TX
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.