AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
trynders
Posts: 467
Registered: ‎12-10-2003
Message 1 of 6 (289 Views)

Vertical Profiles - Please help!

289 Views, 5 Replies
04-27-2011 03:10 PM

Hi all,

Using Civil 3D 2010, I have a vertical profile with a grade break tagging the station and elevation.  To avoid overlapping other text, I dragged it to below with a leader.  (see Part 1.pdf)  This profile is in model space in world coordiantes.  If I either x-ref this drawings into my output sheet, or just even switch to paper space in the current drawing, and make a viewport, my text returns to the original location.  (see Part 2.pdf).   Switch back to model space and it is back horizontal.  What gives?

 

Thanks.

 

 

*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,805
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 6 (260 Views)

Re: Vertical Profiles - Please help!

04-27-2011 05:04 PM in reply to: trynders
 
John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,322
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 3 of 6 (255 Views)

Re: Vertical Profiles - Please help!

04-27-2011 05:51 PM in reply to: jmayo

Dontcha just love that new IE9?

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,805
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 4 of 6 (213 Views)

Re: Vertical Profiles - Please help!

04-28-2011 06:06 AM in reply to: Jeff_M

Ahh, not yet. Perhaps I overlooked a setting for the invisible fonts in IE9. :smileyhappy:

 

I did ask the OP to see if the styles were the same in both dwg's. I wouldn't expect this to be an issue but I would start my debugging process there especially after seeing your response to his other  question about profile labels.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
Mentor
trynders
Posts: 467
Registered: ‎12-10-2003
Message 5 of 6 (196 Views)

Re: Vertical Profiles - Please help!

04-28-2011 07:41 AM in reply to: jmayo

I fould the problem yesterday.  I edited my label style and changed under the general tab one of the plan readability values.  I was going to look for it today to let you all know what it was, but now when i change values in there, I cant seem to make it mess up.  Maybe C3D needed a nap last night.  Anyway, Whats the talk about IE9?  I also have C3D2011 and have been told that 2011 is more stable.  Agree?

*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,322
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 6 of 6 (181 Views)

Re: Vertical Profiles - Please help!

04-28-2011 08:51 AM in reply to: trynders

IE9 has problems posting to the forums, which is why John's first reply to you was blank.

 

For me, 2011 had more issues than I cared to deal with so have remained on 2010 until recently when I moved one of my projects to 2012. So far I haven't experienced anything to stop me from using 2012, other than backwards compatability. 2010, for me, has been a fairly reliable and stable product, more so since I started using a 64 bit OS (first Vista, now Win7).

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.