AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
jeremy.2012
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎03-12-2012
Message 1 of 5 (168 Views)
Accepted Solution

Variable cuts in a corridor

168 Views, 4 Replies
10-24-2013 07:11 AM

I am helping a local golf course with some drainage issues and I am having issues on how to create my waterway corridor.  Creating the corridor isn't the issue but it's my cuts along my allignment.  The depth that I set my subassembly at wouldn't always be accurate since my cuts will be different along my allignment.  So basically I'm looking for a way to keep a corridor at a specific grade so it will have cut depths that will vary, depending on the existing ground.

 

Thanks in advance!

*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,768
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 2 of 5 (159 Views)

Re: Variable cuts in a corridor

10-24-2013 08:13 AM in reply to: jeremy.2012

Create a design profile and use that in your corridor rather then using the surface profile.

 

 

Brian Hailey
CAD-1.com
My Blog
*Expert Elite*
wfberry
Posts: 1,823
Registered: ‎09-05-2006
Message 3 of 5 (153 Views)

Re: Variable cuts in a corridor

10-24-2013 08:32 AM in reply to: jeremy.2012

It is difficult to follow exactly what you are saying.  A brief normal method.

 

1.  Draw alignment along the preferred water path.

2.  Make a profile of this showing the existing ground.

3.  Draw a final grade profile for the corridor "keeping your corridor at a specific grade".

4.  Attach the corridor to the final grade profile.

 

Bill

Active Contributor
jeremy.2012
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎03-12-2012
Message 4 of 5 (112 Views)

Re: Variable cuts in a corridor

10-25-2013 07:18 AM in reply to: BrianHailey

Yeah makes sense, should have thought of that but thanks!!

 

 Also with the corridors, for some reason they sometimes tend to start and end at 0.0' elevation.  The rest of it is at the correct elevations but I don't get why the corridor would drop down to 0.0' elevation. 

 

Any thoughts?

*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,768
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 5 of 5 (102 Views)

Re: Variable cuts in a corridor

10-25-2013 09:17 AM in reply to: jeremy.2012

If there is a slight gap between the start/end of the proifle and the start/end of the corridor you'll see that. Perhaps you were using object snaps when creating your design profile and instead of snapping to the end of the existing profile you snapped to a vertext that was really close to the end of the existing profile. I see that one a lot in class.

Brian Hailey
CAD-1.com
My Blog
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.