AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
trimble700
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎03-22-2006
Message 1 of 7 (86 Views)

Using Vault

86 Views, 6 Replies
04-28-2006 10:55 AM
I'm experimenting with the vault feature; What is the most efficient way to structure a project using xrefs, data shortcuts and vault? How can a drawing within vault be xreffed or used in a data shortcut. Thanks.
*Drew Burgasser
Message 2 of 7 (86 Views)

Re: Using Vault

04-28-2006 02:46 PM in reply to: trimble700
Firstly, I think you will either choose to use Vault OR data shortcuts, but
you will not use both at the same time. Read the help on data shortcuts and
project management. It talks about this.

With regard to Vault and xrefs, you will be doing all your xrefing using
your local working folder. There doesn't appear to be any way to "overlay
from Vault". You'll want to set up your project subfolders using Autodesk
Vault Explorer 5. Add your child drawings to the project (in subfolders if
desired), and then xref the child drawings from the project structure in
your working folder. When you check in and check out the parent drawings,
it should bring down the latest version of the child drawings too.

Sincerely,
Drew Burgasser
CAD Masters, Inc.
www.cadmasters.com



wrote in message news:5158358@discussion.autodesk.com...
I'm experimenting with the vault feature; What is the most efficient way to
structure a project using xrefs, data shortcuts and vault? How can a
drawing within vault be xreffed or used in a data shortcut. Thanks.
Contributor
trimble700
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎03-22-2006
Message 3 of 7 (86 Views)

Re: Using Vault

04-29-2006 08:30 AM in reply to: trimble700
Drew,

Thanks for your response. I just have a few things I want to follow up on.

I am trying to get this straight in my head before I implement 07 in real world road design environment vs. demos and training sessions.

It appears that the only entities that can be reference are the surfaces, alignments and pipe networks.

I've been experiencing some major performance issues in 06 with my final drawings. I've been doing all the C3D work in one drawing and xreferencing the drawing in several other drawings hosting different title blocks. When I say all C3D work, I mean everything from the surface to the corridor and cross sections. In the title block drawings I see the biggest decrease in performance when I tab from one layout to the next for the first time it takes at least 2-3 minutes. After that going from layout to layout is fine. The base drawings are about 25-35 megs, not huge, but decent size drawings.

Using the vault, I can decrease the size of the base separating the existing surface and maybe the alignments, could you elaborate more on your parent drawing and child drawing explanation. I'll use the vault for the surfaces, alignments and pipe networks, then I'll xref that base drawing into new drawings for printing purpose, plan/profile sheets, traffic control, sewer profiles, cross sections, etc. Do you feel there is another, more efficient way.
*Drew Burgasser
Message 4 of 7 (86 Views)

Re: Using Vault

04-29-2006 10:41 AM in reply to: trimble700
Trimble:

I think you are on the right track about trying to keep your drawings small
and modularized.

That's really not acceptable for you to have to wait 2-3 min switching
layout tabs. I was going to suggest setting "regen when switching layouts"
but since it only happens the first time, that probably wouldn't help.
Hopefully, simplifying your drawings will remedy this.

My reference to parent/child simply relates to the drawing that is
referencing vs. the drawing that is being referenced.

With regard to Vault, go for it but be wary:
1. It's new and hasn't really been used in C3D production yet. In our
testing, it seems to be doing well.
2. MSDE / SQL Server - Prior, we had drawings and we had ldd projects. We
knew where the files were and we knew how to backup. We just needed to
setup a server for file sharing. Now we have to concern ourselves with
MSDE, SQL, 10 user limitations, database backup, database consistency
checks, database recovery, SQL licensing, etc.
3. Xrefs like we talked about.

Sincerely,
Drew Burgasser
CAD Masters, Inc.
www.cadmasters.com

wrote in message news:5158922@discussion.autodesk.com...
Drew,

Thanks for your response. I just have a few things I want to follow up on.

I am trying to get this straight in my head before I implement 07 in real
world road design environment vs. demos and training sessions.

It appears that the only entities that can be reference are the surfaces,
alignments and pipe networks.

I've been experiencing some major performance issues in 06 with my final
drawings. I've been doing all the C3D work in one drawing and xreferencing
the drawing in several other drawings hosting different title blocks. When
I say all C3D work, I mean everything from the surface to the corridor and
cross sections. In the title block drawings I see the biggest decrease in
performance when I tab from one layout to the next for the first time it
takes at least 2-3 minutes. After that going from layout to layout is fine.
The base drawings are about 25-35 megs, not huge, but decent size drawings.

Using the vault, I can decrease the size of the base separating the existing
surface and maybe the alignments, could you elaborate more on your parent
drawing and child drawing explanation. I'll use the vault for the surfaces,
alignments and pipe networks, then I'll xref that base drawing into new
drawings for printing purpose, plan/profile sheets, traffic control, sewer
profiles, cross sections, etc. Do you feel there is another, more efficient
way.
Contributor
trimble700
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎03-22-2006
Message 5 of 7 (86 Views)

Re: Using Vault

05-15-2006 03:50 PM in reply to: trimble700
Hey Drew, how's it going? I am finally at a point to utilize the vault feature in Civil 3D, there are just a few more things I want to get straightened out first.

From what I can decipher from all the posts, I need to install the Vault Server on my companies server. Since I'll be sharing the files stored on the Vault Server, I need to install the IIS. After that I only have to install the Vault Explorer (from initial installation of C3D) on the local workstations. I plan on pointing the working folders to our server as well, only in a different location.

I tried installing the Vault Server on a local machine and changing the storage location, but didn't have any luck.

Could you tell me if I am in the ballpark with my installation. Are there any details I left out. Thanks a lot for all your help with this.
*Drew Burgasser
Message 6 of 7 (86 Views)

Re: Using Vault

05-16-2006 09:07 AM in reply to: trimble700
You're on the right track, except for the part about installing the Vault
Server on a local machine. You lost me there. If you're installing it on
your server, you don't need to install it on a local machine.

I'm on the fence about the working folder - local vs. network. You'll
probably see better performance from a local working folder. But if you're
concerned that users won't check in their drawings as often as they should,
a network working folder is not a bad idea.

Sincerely,
Drew Burgasser
CAD Masters, Inc.
www.cadmasters.com


wrote in message news:5175365@discussion.autodesk.com...
Hey Drew, how's it going? I am finally at a point to utilize the vault
feature in Civil 3D, there are just a few more things I want to get
straightened out first.

From what I can decipher from all the posts, I need to install the Vault
Server on my companies server. Since I'll be sharing the files stored on
the Vault Server, I need to install the IIS. After that I only have to
install the Vault Explorer (from initial installation of C3D) on the local
workstations. I plan on pointing the working folders to our server as well,
only in a different location.

I tried installing the Vault Server on a local machine and changing the
storage location, but didn't have any luck.

Could you tell me if I am in the ballpark with my installation. Are there
any details I left out. Thanks a lot for all your help with this.
Contributor
trimble700
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎03-22-2006
Message 7 of 7 (86 Views)

Re: Using Vault

05-16-2006 09:51 AM in reply to: trimble700
Hey Drew,
Thanks a lot for helping me out with this mess. So far the d.g. is the best source of information on this topic.

I think the vault has potential, but getting to the point where everyone can use is proving to be difficult.

I was thinking the Vault Explorer needs to be installed on the local machine, but then how does it link to the Vault on the server.

Once I get the Vault Server installed on the server and C3D installed on my machine I can see which is better for the working folder.

Thanks again for all your help on this.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.