AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
wsucoug
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎01-26-2012
Message 1 of 12 (489 Views)

Use for Pressure PIpes

489 Views, 11 Replies
04-28-2014 03:32 PM

After playing with pressure pipes in C3D 2013 and in C3D 2015 I still haven’t found a use for the tool.  Has anyone established a work flow for actually using this tool in C3D. Below is a list of shortcomings that has prevented me from using the tool:

 

  1. Viewing fittings in plan view is impossible. At any useful scale (e.g. 1”=20’) a 6” bend in a construction plan set looks like a “smudge” of printer ink. Is there a work around for this?
  2. Fittings catalog is missing lots of needed fittings.  Mechanical by flange fittings, pvc, adaptors, ect. Is there a work around for this? Is there a comprehensive catalog out there to buy? Or did everyone just spend weeks on end creating their own catalog?
  3. Grouping fittings together. Usually when I issue a construction plan set I tell the contractor either by northing and easting or station and offset where a group of fittings is to be located (e.g. 3 – mechanical gate valves, 1 – tee, 3 – adaptors). Can I group these fittings together or do I have to label them individually?  Does anyone have a create workaround that still looks professional?  
  4. Swapping parts? Sometimes I need to upsize or downsize from a 10”X8” to a 10”X6”. No quick way?  What if i needs to switch all piping from 10 inch to 12 inch? Do i have to recreate everything? 
  5. What about jointing pipes after you delete a fittings ( e.g.: I no longer need a hydrant…..).  

 

This is just a list that I came up with in about 10 minutes. Has anyone been able to create a construction plan set using this tool? If so do you mind sharing how.

*Expert Elite*
Jay_B
Posts: 2,732
Registered: ‎09-15-2010
Message 2 of 12 (475 Views)

Re: Use for Pressure PIpes

04-28-2014 04:29 PM in reply to: wsucoug

I have yet to use them in a Production environment but because it's a relatively new feature users would like it customized & set up at our company.

 

I spent some time a while ago looking into customizing parts etc.

Due to the lack of feedback I received on customization of Pressure Pipes it seems like they may not be getting much use yet.

Many of the shortcomings on your list are accurate based on my findings with the 2014 release. Can't comment on 2015 as I don't have it installed yet.

 

The only Pressure Pipes Catalog I'm aware of for purchase is this one offered by ATG Services.

Simply found this via Google search when I was looking into it and know nothing about the product.

 

Here's my recent post on the topic and my thought process but I kind of got stuck when I couldn't find a decent means to blend any of these parts from one incomplete catalog to the next (I'm talking just for consistency in the included) DIP parts. Once I dug into it I realized there needs to be a lot of blending between items offered in Mechanical vs. Push-on etc. to accommodate our current workflow. Then the PVC and HDPE etc. need to be created as well.

 

If there was a way to blend portions of the SQlite parts files it would save a lot of setup time.

 

 

Jay

C3D 2014 SP2
Win 7 Professional 64 Bit
Active Member
wsucoug
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎01-26-2012
Message 3 of 12 (385 Views)

Re: Use for Pressure PIpes

05-05-2014 03:24 PM in reply to: wsucoug

Thanks for the reply Jay_B

 

From the minimal responses I am guessing most people are in the same boat I am in. 

 

I was hoping that this post would help me see the use for pressure pipe objects in C3D, but as for now, I think I am going to put this tool back on the shelf and wait for another release. 

Valued Contributor
~Opie
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎04-08-2014
Message 4 of 12 (374 Views)

Re: Use for Pressure PIpes

05-05-2014 07:26 PM in reply to: wsucoug
After a third release with this tool in place I was hoping it would be a little more complete. I'm starting to think we will need to stay in 2013 and still not use this feature.
New Member
ddelloch
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-05-2010
Message 5 of 12 (345 Views)

Re: Use for Pressure PIpes

05-09-2014 11:02 AM in reply to: wsucoug

Every release I rush to check and see if this is something we can justify implementing and every realease my mind is blown by how terribly supported this feature is.

Active Member
bcmonsen
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-21-2007
Message 6 of 12 (298 Views)

Re: Use for Pressure PIpes

06-22-2014 08:31 PM in reply to: wsucoug

I have found this parts package, It had just about everything I needed. Plus, they told me they are working on over 5000 additional parts to add within the next year or so. They were awesome to work with.

 

http://c3d-pressuresystem.blogspot.com/  

Active Member
wsucoug
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎01-26-2012
Message 7 of 12 (269 Views)

Re: Use for Pressure PIpes

06-26-2014 03:52 PM in reply to: bcmonsen

These parts look great for modeling, but they won’t be useful for creating a paper plan set. This is where the discontinuity exists in pressure pipe networks.....getting from a great looking model to a set of plans that can be taken into the field. 

Member
sherring
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-23-2010
Message 8 of 12 (243 Views)

Re: Use for Pressure PIpes

06-27-2014 07:41 AM in reply to: wsucoug

Please expand on the "not ready for paper plans".  Would like to see what you are thinking there.  As far as pressure pipes go, I believe they are ONLY good for paper plans and actually work very well with styles and labels.  That is if it is all set up properly.  Most firms I see using it are only using it for plan production, not even profile or anything more.

Active Member
wsucoug
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎01-26-2012
Message 9 of 12 (226 Views)

Re: Use for Pressure PIpes

06-27-2014 12:13 PM in reply to: sherring

There are a few items in my original post, but here is an outline of some items could think of off the top if my head:

 

1. Scaling fittings. At a typical plan scale 1"=20' a fitting will look like a drop of ink from the printer. This is not very useful to a contractor reading the plans.

 

2. Creating fitting clusters. How do you annotate a cluster of fittings? Usually I use the station/offset of one of the fittings and then build the cluster off of that location.  All fittings are grouped into the single leader with one location.

 

3. Restrain delineation. How do you delineate a wedge style mechanical glad (restraining) vs a standard mechanical gland. What about PVC C900 bell restrains? 

 

I am not saying these items can't be accomplished; however, that’s what my original post was about........."How do we make a real set of construction plans that are to industry standards and very professional looking." I haven’t seen or been able or figure out how this can be accomplished.  

 

Valued Mentor
Hidden_Brain
Posts: 712
Registered: ‎03-24-2009
Message 10 of 12 (207 Views)

Re: Use for Pressure PIpes

06-28-2014 05:14 PM in reply to: wsucoug
I have to admit that I am not very savvy with pressure pies, but #4 and#5 on your list are my biggest gripes at the moment with them.
Avishek Chhibber, P.E., CFM
Civil 3D 2014 SP2, Win 7-64 bit
8GB RAM
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.